Cranberry Swirl Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I made 3 coffee cakes for a brunch crowd, and this was the first one to disappear. It's delicious! I used the recipe exactly as it appears - it is a bit tedious to split the batter into 3 layers with cranberry sauce in between, but it's possible. I think a single layer would be just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I've made this cake several times and it come out perfect each time. We eat it for dessert or with that afternoon cup of coffee. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I used about 1 1/2 cups cranberry sauce and when I took out my sour cream, I realized that I didn't have quite 1 cup, so I made up the difference with buttermilk. The cake was moist and wonderful. This one went to the teacher's lounge and was well received with many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I used leftover Thanksgiving cranberry sauce to make this (Cranberry Sauce recipe from this site with cranberries and orange juice - yum!). I didn't have any sour cream, so I used leftover unwhipped whipping cream, and it still turned out great. I made a glaze with orange juice and confectioner's sugar as recommended by another reviewer - went really well with the oj in the cranberry sauce. Great way to use up Thanksgiving leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I thought this coffee cake recipe was pretty good but my husband wasn't so keen on it. He thought the cranberry sauce between the layers seemed a bit odd...maybe I should have only used the eight ounces the recipe called for. I had only had a large can and used almost all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was pretty good and I'll make it again when I have leftover cranberry sauce. I brought some to the office and it was gone quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
So good. I made this but I added the whole regular can (10-12 oz) of whole cranberry sauce as I didn't see it was a little can and it turned out great. I served this along with an asparagus quiche to my Bible Study group 2 years ago and they are still talking about that cranberry coffee cake. They asked me to bring it again as they said they haven't found a recipe like that and could still remember how good that was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
excellent coffee cake very moist will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Excellent!! I read many reviews first, so I took some of those suggestions as well. I had to "tweak" it since I didn't have quite all the listed ingredients and used walnuts in the mix and topping since this is the family favorite. I used 1/2 cup of sour cream and 1/2 cup of 2% milk, (no yogurt on hand) adding about a teaspoon of mayonaise. I added the vanilla extract too as well as the almond. I used leftover whole berry cranberry sauce from Thanksgiving--wasn't sure about any liquid juice, so I didn't use it. I added about 1/3 to 1/2 cup more flour, since 2 cups didn't seem like it was enough. I swirled the sauce only on the top, but it was fine. I also used an 8" x 8" pan and it cooked nicely for 50 minutes, adding the topping after 30 minutes. It wasn't dry it all. The bottom was medium toasty brown, so maybe a bit less cooking next time when I make it again, which will be SOON!! Great for brunch, company, Holidays or just easy Sunday mornings.....Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
What a moist and delicious cake! I reduced the sugar to about 3/4 c. and it was still a sweet cake without being too sweet. especially if you are going to put some frosting on it. I also used about 1.5 Cups of cranberry sauce that i made. i baked it with the crumb topping as recommened and it was perfect. It's a great balance in texture as the cake itself is really moist and the crumb topping gives it a little crust. perfect for teas and great paired with coffee, too! It's going to be one of my regulars. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States