Cranberry Swirl Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I used leftover Thanksgiving cranberry sauce to make this (Cranberry Sauce recipe from this site with cranberries and orange juice - yum!). I didn't have any sour cream, so I used leftover unwhipped whipping cream, and it still turned out great. I made a glaze with orange juice and confectioner's sugar as recommended by another reviewer - went really well with the oj in the cranberry sauce. Great way to use up Thanksgiving leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I thought this coffee cake recipe was pretty good but my husband wasn't so keen on it. He thought the cranberry sauce between the layers seemed a bit odd...maybe I should have only used the eight ounces the recipe called for. I had only had a large can and used almost all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was pretty good and I'll make it again when I have leftover cranberry sauce. I brought some to the office and it was gone quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
So good. I made this but I added the whole regular can (10-12 oz) of whole cranberry sauce as I didn't see it was a little can and it turned out great. I served this along with an asparagus quiche to my Bible Study group 2 years ago and they are still talking about that cranberry coffee cake. They asked me to bring it again as they said they haven't found a recipe like that and could still remember how good that was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
excellent coffee cake very moist will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Excellent!! I read many reviews first, so I took some of those suggestions as well. I had to "tweak" it since I didn't have quite all the listed ingredients and used walnuts in the mix and topping since this is the family favorite. I used 1/2 cup of sour cream and 1/2 cup of 2% milk, (no yogurt on hand) adding about a teaspoon of mayonaise. I added the vanilla extract too as well as the almond. I used leftover whole berry cranberry sauce from Thanksgiving--wasn't sure about any liquid juice, so I didn't use it. I added about 1/3 to 1/2 cup more flour, since 2 cups didn't seem like it was enough. I swirled the sauce only on the top, but it was fine. I also used an 8" x 8" pan and it cooked nicely for 50 minutes, adding the topping after 30 minutes. It wasn't dry it all. The bottom was medium toasty brown, so maybe a bit less cooking next time when I make it again, which will be SOON!! Great for brunch, company, Holidays or just easy Sunday mornings.....Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
What a moist and delicious cake! I reduced the sugar to about 3/4 c. and it was still a sweet cake without being too sweet. especially if you are going to put some frosting on it. I also used about 1.5 Cups of cranberry sauce that i made. i baked it with the crumb topping as recommened and it was perfect. It's a great balance in texture as the cake itself is really moist and the crumb topping gives it a little crust. perfect for teas and great paired with coffee, too! It's going to be one of my regulars. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Delicious! I grated a little fresh orange peels into my cranberries before putting them down the center of the cake. I used regular vanilla because I didn't have any almond extract. This is definitely something I would make again. Very moist and scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Good, but not great. Still looking for the perfect cranberry coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was pretty good. I even used fat free sour cream. I read some reviews, and after making the batter, decided there wasn't enough to go around in a bundt pan, so I used a loaf pan, and it came out perfectly moist. And then I made a glaze to put over it. I didn't really measure, but it was about 1/2 cup powdered sugar, milk and almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States