Cranberry Swirl Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
This was the BEST!! I added crumb nut topping (1/3C flour, 1/4C packed brown sugar, 3T melted butter) then drizzled a glaze (powdered sugar, vanille extract, milk). It was AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I made this for Christmas morning and everyone loved it! Very moist and tasty.....I added a orange glaze to the top made with powdered sugar and orange juice....it was a good complement to the cranberry. Will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
Okay, I read, I learned, I baked, and I am totally satisfied! I used an 8x8 square glass dish, I added 2 tsp. of vanilla (suggested by someone else), I didn't have almond extract so I used amaretto liquer, I used an entire 16 oz. can of whole cranberry sauce (also not my original idea), and I added the crumb topping. YUMMO! My husband and I have just about finished this off, and I made it TWO days ago. If you put the crumb topping on (1/3 c. flour, 1/4 c. brown sugar, 3TBSP butter) right away, you may have to cover your cake with foil halfway thru baking to prevent burning. Also, I think mine went almost a full hour with the extra cran. sauce, so be sure to check all the way to the bottom of the pan when testing for doneness. Enjoy, and thank you Laura Owen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
This turns out great if you follow the recipe exactly-use a regular can of whole cranberry sauce mixed so it spreads easier- I used a lightly oiled and floured bundt pan, poured 1/2 of the batter in added all the cranberry sauce and topped it with the rest of the batter. I baked about 5 min less than it called for about 50 min. COOL 10 min. before turning out of bundt pan onto a serving plate. It doesn't need glaze but it would look nice to sprinkle it with powdered sugar or make a light glaze when it cools and is on a plate for serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This really is the best coffee cake! It needs no icing...perfect just like it is. My husband, not usually big on sweets, requests this ALL the time and even asked me to make it for him to take to work. I make 1 1/4 times the amount of batter though because the recipe didn't seem to make enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This cake turned out excellent! I was happy to serve it on Thanksgiving morning. I did use 16 oz of whole berry cranberry sauce rather than the 8 oz it called for. I can't imagine 8 oz. being enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
I made this and I only think I got 2 small pieces, my husband ate the rest!!!...LOL We both loved it!!... I didnt have the almond extract so I used 2 teasp of Vanilla and also added about 1/2 teasp of Cinnamon...and I dusted the cake very lightly with powdered sugar when it was cooled... Very good the next day warmed in the microwave for a few seconds with a little dab of butter... I know this will be on my Thanksgiving and Xmas tables this year... Kiki (Brampton,On, Canada)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I was looking through my recipes that I had printed out and put in a folder and came across this one yesterday. Like so many of my cookbooks, it was something that looked good, but I never got around to making. I wanted to bring dessert to my friend's home last evening for dinner, and decided to make this. Needless to say, I was a little nervous bringing a dessert that I had never made or tasted before. Well, as you know......."NOT TO WORRY!"......It was absolutely delicious! Nothing but raves from all of us! Everyone wanted the recipe. This will most certainly be on my list of take alongs and any time I am asked to make dessert. Thank you, Laura, for sharing this wonderful treat. May God truly bless your holiday!....Mary Anne Dowling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
I made this for a neighbor who had surgery. I gave him his favorties coffee beans and 1/2 of this cake. I am glad that I saved some for my family. I wouldn't have known how dry it was. Watch your baking time carefully. It depends on the size of pan you choose to use. My neighbors wife returned my platter with her "version" of this recipe. WOW! It included the streusel topping and slivered almonds on top. She made hers in a 9" rd cake pan. It is so pretty and you may serve a wedge any size you choose. There could be so many variations with this filling recipe, let your imagination go, or just use what you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Delicious cake! I did increase the ingredients by 1/4 as recommended by another review, plus added 1 c. chopped pecans to the batter. I used Cran-Fruit for Chicken instead of a can of cranberry sauce because that was what I had on hand. It comes in two flavors -- Cranberry-Raspberry and Cranberry-Orange. I used the raspberry. I took the cake out after 50 minutes and it was slightly overdone, so will try 40-45 minutes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States