Cranberry Swirl Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This recipe was very good. I made the crumb topping as suggested by another reviewer, and that was delicious! My only complaint was that it was a little dry. I think it would have been better if it was only cooked for 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
This turns out great if you follow the recipe exactly-use a regular can of whole cranberry sauce mixed so it spreads easier- I used a lightly oiled and floured bundt pan, poured 1/2 of the batter in added all the cranberry sauce and topped it with the rest of the batter. I baked about 5 min less than it called for about 50 min. COOL 10 min. before turning out of bundt pan onto a serving plate. It doesn't need glaze but it would look nice to sprinkle it with powdered sugar or make a light glaze when it cools and is on a plate for serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Yum!! Excellent. I made my own cranberry sauce, but made no other changes. Great flavor and texture. Will most definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This cake turned out excellent! I was happy to serve it on Thanksgiving morning. I did use 16 oz of whole berry cranberry sauce rather than the 8 oz it called for. I can't imagine 8 oz. being enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This cake was delicious! I made it for thanksgiving and my family especially loved it with their coffee. I put a little less almond flavoring, as a few reviews commented on the strong almond taste, and added a bit of vanilla. It was delicious. Also, I had no idea what a tube pan was and so I could not find one. It turned out fine in a square cake pan, with just batter,sauce,batter. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I was looking through my recipes that I had printed out and put in a folder and came across this one yesterday. Like so many of my cookbooks, it was something that looked good, but I never got around to making. I wanted to bring dessert to my friend's home last evening for dinner, and decided to make this. Needless to say, I was a little nervous bringing a dessert that I had never made or tasted before. Well, as you know......."NOT TO WORRY!"......It was absolutely delicious! Nothing but raves from all of us! Everyone wanted the recipe. This will most certainly be on my list of take alongs and any time I am asked to make dessert. Thank you, Laura, for sharing this wonderful treat. May God truly bless your holiday!....Mary Anne Dowling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
This was the BEST!! I added crumb nut topping (1/3C flour, 1/4C packed brown sugar, 3T melted butter) then drizzled a glaze (powdered sugar, vanille extract, milk). It was AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Delicious cake! I did increase the ingredients by 1/4 as recommended by another review, plus added 1 c. chopped pecans to the batter. I used Cran-Fruit for Chicken instead of a can of cranberry sauce because that was what I had on hand. It comes in two flavors -- Cranberry-Raspberry and Cranberry-Orange. I used the raspberry. I took the cake out after 50 minutes and it was slightly overdone, so will try 40-45 minutes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Okay but not fantastic. I didn't have a tube pan so I made muffins instead. I poured the batter into the individual compartments and swirled in some cranberry sauce. I think they would have been better if I'd put more sauce in each one but otherwise they were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
I made this and I only think I got 2 small pieces, my husband ate the rest!!!...LOL We both loved it!!... I didnt have the almond extract so I used 2 teasp of Vanilla and also added about 1/2 teasp of Cinnamon...and I dusted the cake very lightly with powdered sugar when it was cooled... Very good the next day warmed in the microwave for a few seconds with a little dab of butter... I know this will be on my Thanksgiving and Xmas tables this year... Kiki (Brampton,On, Canada)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States