Cranberry Swirl Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I love the flavors but tweaked this recipe a bit. I make my own cranberry sauce so I use closer to 12-16 ounces in a single layer. After baking I topped with slivered almonds and a glaze with almond extract & water. The texture is beautiful and it's a wonderful cake for Thanksgiving time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
This was very good. Moist, good flavor, and easy to make. I had difficulty having enough batter (which was VERY thick) to cover 2 layers of cranberries, so I'm not sure if I did something wrong. I would also add a glaze instead of just powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
This got rave reviews--I tried to make the cinnamon crumb topping suggested by other readers but accidentally put in 1/3 c melted butter instead of 3 tbsp. It was different (not a crumb topping so much as a solid topping) but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
This was OK, but rather plain. Probably much better with a streusel topping or glaze. I'm still looking for a good cranberry coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
This did not rise as much as I had hoped. It was tasty and got great reviews from the family. But I had hoped for a little different outcome. I would deffenitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKUKIELA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
All I can say is wow! Great recipe for Thanksgiving morning. I probably used a little more whole cranberry sauce, and used half vanilla, half almond extract instead of straight almond. I also had a streusel topping of butter and brown sugar. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
I made this for a neighbor who had surgery. I gave him his favorties coffee beans and 1/2 of this cake. I am glad that I saved some for my family. I wouldn't have known how dry it was. Watch your baking time carefully. It depends on the size of pan you choose to use. My neighbors wife returned my platter with her "version" of this recipe. WOW! It included the streusel topping and slivered almonds on top. She made hers in a 9" rd cake pan. It is so pretty and you may serve a wedge any size you choose. There could be so many variations with this filling recipe, let your imagination go, or just use what you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
The cranberry swirl gave the cake/bread a nice texture to the surrounding parts. However, the rest of it tasted a little too much like the ingredients put in it, a bit floury and baking soda-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
Okay, I read, I learned, I baked, and I am totally satisfied! I used an 8x8 square glass dish, I added 2 tsp. of vanilla (suggested by someone else), I didn't have almond extract so I used amaretto liquer, I used an entire 16 oz. can of whole cranberry sauce (also not my original idea), and I added the crumb topping. YUMMO! My husband and I have just about finished this off, and I made it TWO days ago. If you put the crumb topping on (1/3 c. flour, 1/4 c. brown sugar, 3TBSP butter) right away, you may have to cover your cake with foil halfway thru baking to prevent burning. Also, I think mine went almost a full hour with the extra cran. sauce, so be sure to check all the way to the bottom of the pan when testing for doneness. Enjoy, and thank you Laura Owen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Very good, quick cake. Changed the recipe slightly to add 2 cans of whole cranberry sauce. It seemed to need some sort of glaze, so I added a powder sugar, milk and orange extract glaze to the top. It was excellent! Has a nice blend of tart and sweet flavors. Everyone really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DM COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States