Cranberry Swirl Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was pretty good and I'll make it again when I have leftover cranberry sauce. I brought some to the office and it was gone quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
So good. I made this but I added the whole regular can (10-12 oz) of whole cranberry sauce as I didn't see it was a little can and it turned out great. I served this along with an asparagus quiche to my Bible Study group 2 years ago and they are still talking about that cranberry coffee cake. They asked me to bring it again as they said they haven't found a recipe like that and could still remember how good that was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
excellent coffee cake very moist will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Excellent!! I read many reviews first, so I took some of those suggestions as well. I had to "tweak" it since I didn't have quite all the listed ingredients and used walnuts in the mix and topping since this is the family favorite. I used 1/2 cup of sour cream and 1/2 cup of 2% milk, (no yogurt on hand) adding about a teaspoon of mayonaise. I added the vanilla extract too as well as the almond. I used leftover whole berry cranberry sauce from Thanksgiving--wasn't sure about any liquid juice, so I didn't use it. I added about 1/3 to 1/2 cup more flour, since 2 cups didn't seem like it was enough. I swirled the sauce only on the top, but it was fine. I also used an 8" x 8" pan and it cooked nicely for 50 minutes, adding the topping after 30 minutes. It wasn't dry it all. The bottom was medium toasty brown, so maybe a bit less cooking next time when I make it again, which will be SOON!! Great for brunch, company, Holidays or just easy Sunday mornings.....Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
What a moist and delicious cake! I reduced the sugar to about 3/4 c. and it was still a sweet cake without being too sweet. especially if you are going to put some frosting on it. I also used about 1.5 Cups of cranberry sauce that i made. i baked it with the crumb topping as recommened and it was perfect. It's a great balance in texture as the cake itself is really moist and the crumb topping gives it a little crust. perfect for teas and great paired with coffee, too! It's going to be one of my regulars. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Delicious! I grated a little fresh orange peels into my cranberries before putting them down the center of the cake. I used regular vanilla because I didn't have any almond extract. This is definitely something I would make again. Very moist and scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Good, but not great. Still looking for the perfect cranberry coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was pretty good. I even used fat free sour cream. I read some reviews, and after making the batter, decided there wasn't enough to go around in a bundt pan, so I used a loaf pan, and it came out perfectly moist. And then I made a glaze to put over it. I didn't really measure, but it was about 1/2 cup powdered sugar, milk and almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This recipe turned out very well-I used 1/2 c fat free plain yogurt and 1/2 c sour cream, added 1/2 tsp of vanilla and used 1/4 c butter and 1/4 c applesauce. I used a bundt pan. I poured one layer of cake batter then swirled the leftover cranberry sauce and covered it with the remaining cake batter. It took 50 min. to bake. In an effort to use up food in my refrigerator I also threw in 1/2 of a smashed ripe banana, which I thought added to the taste and moisture. Would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Good recipe! I subbed vanilla for the almond extract and used low fat sour cream. Like previous reviewers I wished I had made more batter when I put it in the pan, but since I didn't have more sour cream, I just went with it. In the end I was glad because the cake rose to fill my bundt pan. Somebody didn't know what a tube pan is - it can be a springform pan with a cone in the middle, or a solid bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States