Cranberry Swirl Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I have used this recipe several times. I have always used 16 oz. of filling. One time I mixed the cranberry sauce (I prefer whole berry) into the batter. I use what ever I have on hand. Today I'm using some pineapple and prunes left over in the fridge and I'm going to bake in my cast iron skillet like I would corn bread. Love this recipe. Very versatile, quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Oh wow, was this ever good!! I decided to try this as part of our Christmas Brunch this year and I was not disappointed. Per other reviews stating it did not bake up very high. I recalculated it for 19 servings. Don't bother with the extra teaspoon of butter or the extra tablespoon of flour called for in the recalculation. I also used 3 whole eggs instead of 2-3/4 eggs called for in the recalculation. I baked it in my favorite old aluminm "Bundt" pan. It baked right to the top perfectly in 50 minutes. I used most of a 14 ounce can of the whole berry cranberry sauce. I was afraid to use the whole can. Next time I think I will try the whole can...and there will definitely be a next time. I finished off with a simple glaze of confectionery sugar, orange juice and orange zest after the cake was completely cool. The zest is what gave the glaze its flavor. I baked the cake on the morning of Christmas Eve and glazed the cake on Christmas morning. The cake was not in the least dry. One hint: As soon as removing from the pan, (after cooling in the pan about 15 minutes), I wrapped plastic wrap around the cake while still hot and left it like that (eventually putting the cake dome over the top) until the next morning and then glazed the cake. For those of you not too fond of cranberries, do not let that stop you from trying this recipe. The cranberry taste is very understated. Just a wonderful, wonderful recipe. Thanks you so much for sharing Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walworth, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Thanks for a great recipe. The almond extract adds a delicate fragrance and sweetness to the cake. I added a pinch of nutmeg and 1/2 teaspoon grated orange zest to the batter, then glazed the cooled cake with orange juice and confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Really good cake. I actually used leftover homemade cranberry sauce instead of canned. I'll make it again and try the crumb topping as suggested. Might even sprinkle it between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE5014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This was a great recipe! I didn't use canned cranberry sauce but instead opted for homemade cranberry sauce. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystallynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I made cherry cranberry sauce for Thanksgiving because I'm not a big fan of cranberries and I thought it would be a nice compromise for everyone. Then I saw this recipe for cranberry cake. I had about a cup left over and used that. Also added a Tbsp or 2 of Ameretto I had on hand and an extra egg to keep its body. This was great,,,,a recipe I will make often. Thanks so much !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marge Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Easy cake to make, delicious & simple. I did put a powder sugar glade over. Making for Christmas morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Because I'm on a low-sodium diet, I used low-sodium baking powder and baking soda. And because the sugar content is so high, I used 1 cup Splenda in place of the white sugar. I also made additional batter as suggested, as it didn't look like enough for a bundt or tube pan. The results were great. I made several cakes to share at my club and church meetings. I also made 24 copies of the recipe for those that wanted it. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I made a few minor changes and it was delicious! I used 3/4 cup sugar, vanilla extract (I didn't have almond), and I made it in an 8x8 square pan. I think I added a little bit extra cranberry sauce and I'm glad I did! It might have been easier for me to make in a tube pan but it was delicious nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I made it a little healthier by substituting Smart Balance Blend, brown sugar, whole wheat flour, and light sour cream. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States