Cranberry Streusel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is a fabulous recipe. The pie was amazing. I did add the extra sugar as had been suggested. It was still pretty tart, so I would add just a bit more next time. It was the first time my family has had cranberry pie and it was the first to go! This is a definite "must have" for future holiday gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Top notch! Even my husband who doesn't approve of high-calorie desserts succumbe to this pie. I cut the sugar in half, substituting a 1/8 of a cut of Nu-Stevia, in both the cranberry filling and the steusel topping. Used pecans instead of walnuts. This is a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phishgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaftsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Idaho City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
My taste testers loved this pie. Tried it out before taking to friends for Thanksgiving. Turns out the husband loves cranberries so this will be a great surprise. So easy to make. I took advise and chopped cranberries, but think I will smash some and chop some so the pie will hold together better. I did add 1 cup of sugar, and will probably add 1/4 cup more. Great with frozen vanilla yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamlico Grams

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
First off, I only use home made pastry crusts, and recipes for me are ideas not hard rules. With that said I must say that this is a wonderful pie that is easy to make and has great taste and texture. I used a 12 oz. bag of cranberries and a large apple. Other than that I kept it pretty strait. In the topping I used chopped peanuts because that's what I had. I enjoyed the use of a mini food processor and my wife thinks there should be an icing drizzle... Maybe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This pie was supurb, it wasn't pretty, no bells & whistles. Whipped cream or vanilla ice cream was a must. I did add extra sugar(1-1/4 cups total) and used pecans rather than walnuts, oh - I also added slivered almonds because I wanted to use them up. This recipe will now become one of my Thanksgiving traditions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I did add about half of a large fuji apple to this. I really loved the flavor and texture of the cranberry mix. I think next time I will add oats to the topping to make it more crunchy. But my kids, husband and I loved the flavor. Perfect for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I was a little skeptical at how simple this sounded, but it's true! To "smash" the cranberries we used a food processor then bruised the berries further with a potato masher. Like other reviewers, I would use a little more sugar next time. However, when combined with whipped topping or ice-cream, the combination of sweet and tart is truly delightful. This is a truly beautiful pie when it's complete ... perfect for Thanksgiving or Christmas. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leland Brock
Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
interesting alternative for canrberries but and unbeleavly tatr dessert even with extra sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
My family likes things on the sweeter side so I added another 1/2 cup white sugar and a can of sliced peaches (drained and diced). We LOVED it. Yummy Autumn dessert, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wannabe Gardener
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This is a great looking pie. The food processor worked great for chopping the cranberries up. I also increased the sugar to one cup and used pecans in place of walnuts. It has a taste that I would say is a mix between a rhubarb and a cherry pie. Try it for a sweet tart taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States