Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
These scones are really good. I needed to add about 1/2c more flour, and I substituted dried cranberries for the fresh, and they were exceptionally good. Oh my!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Araki
Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
I substituted 1/2 cup plain yogurt for the half and half cream so they were not a liquidy as some people may have found. I also added white chocolate to the center. My roomates can't wat until I make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
VERY delicious and they come out looking and tasting like I hoped! And fun to make! I took another reviewers advice and used a small containor of plain yogurt and it was great. Dough will be sticky, so have extra flour on the side for your board, hands and utensils!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Wade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
My husband loved these. Scones were wonderful, very hard not to eat too many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
We're big scones fans around here and these were excellent. I did add a touch more flour, though scones make a sticky dough. I also drizzled an orange glaze over them when slightly cooled to make them like the ones we get at Starbucks! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Made these for Thanksgiving. The dough was extremely sticky, however with additional flour it was just fine. I omitted the nuts and used craisins instead of fresh cranberries. A real hit. My Mom was disappointed that she didn't have one to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
This is a PERFECT recipe. Don't be confused by the instructions to knead the batter. I think the author just means to mix the berries and nuts well. Instead, I dropped rounded spoonfuls on a baking sheet and baked at 375 for 20 minutes as instructed. These scones couldn't have been any better from a New York City bakery! I've made three batches of this recipe in one week and everyone who has tried one has raved (and everyone thinks they must be so hard to make! I've got them fooled!) I use the Crasins found next to raisins and leave out the sugar and orange. For variation, I've substituted chocolate chips and walnuts. DELICIOUS and PERFECT every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
I've made this recipe several times, and it always draws rave comments. The only alteration I'd recommend is to use a little more flour, maybe 1/4 cup. Also, I prefer more traditionally shaped scones, so I shape them into balls on the cookie sheet. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROGAMIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Tried this out a while ago. Used rasins instead of cranberries and it turned out great! It's so easy to do too. For more color though, I brushed the top of each scone with eggwash (eggyolk+milk) so that they come out Golden Brown after baking. Received great reviews from my family. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YLUCIANO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
Amazing recipe! I used orange flavored Craisins and help back 1/4 cup of the half and half. They were easy to shape and the finished consistency was perfect. My friends loved them so much that I gave all but one away. Delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States