Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
This is a PERFECT recipe. Don't be confused by the instructions to knead the batter. I think the author just means to mix the berries and nuts well. Instead, I dropped rounded spoonfuls on a baking sheet and baked at 375 for 20 minutes as instructed. These scones couldn't have been any better from a New York City bakery! I've made three batches of this recipe in one week and everyone who has tried one has raved (and everyone thinks they must be so hard to make! I've got them fooled!) I use the Crasins found next to raisins and leave out the sugar and orange. For variation, I've substituted chocolate chips and walnuts. DELICIOUS and PERFECT every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
I substituted 1/2 cup plain yogurt for the half and half cream so they were not a liquidy as some people may have found. I also added white chocolate to the center. My roomates can't wat until I make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
I hate to give a bad rating for this recipe because it looks so yummy and has potential, but it was an absolute disaster! The recipe calls for way too much cream and not enough flour. My "dough" was the consistency of muffin batter and I followed the recipe exactly. Kneeding it was out of the question.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
This was so good. I used dried cranberries instead of fresh, delicious. I also used sliced almonds instead of walnuts. Instead of half and half, I used one cup of vanilla yogurt and 1/4 cup of skim milk. I dropped tablespoonfuls and it made 15. They baked in 17 minutes. They were fast and easy. I can't wait to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
As other people mentioned, I had to add some extra flour because the dough was too sticky. I also used dried cranberries (5 ounce bag) as fresh ones were out of season. I added a little water to the dried cranberries so that the sugar would stick. The scones turned out better than I thought they would as I was scraping the still sticky dough off my counter. My brother, who is quite stingy with compliments, said "they were good," which is top rating coming from him. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
We're big scones fans around here and these were excellent. I did add a touch more flour, though scones make a sticky dough. I also drizzled an orange glaze over them when slightly cooled to make them like the ones we get at Starbucks! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
I never made scones before, but I found the dough to be a bit fussy. I had to add more flour to make it a workable dough to roll. I rolled it into a 10 inch circle and cut it into 12 wedges with a pizza cutter. I added cinnamon instead of nutmeg. The scones had nice texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
yummy, flavorful, especially around Christmas! Only, the dough IS too sticky to think about kneading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenKT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Made these for Thanksgiving. The dough was extremely sticky, however with additional flour it was just fine. I omitted the nuts and used craisins instead of fresh cranberries. A real hit. My Mom was disappointed that she didn't have one to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
VERY delicious and they come out looking and tasting like I hoped! And fun to make! I took another reviewers advice and used a small containor of plain yogurt and it was great. Dough will be sticky, so have extra flour on the side for your board, hands and utensils!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States