Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I was affraid the circles were to liquidy but the final result turned out perfect. I used lemon zest instead of orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I am one of the worse cooks/bakers out there. I made this recipe because I love scones. Next time, I will not add the nutmeg as it was too spicy for me. Otherwise, I added a little more cinnamon and wow! What a hit. I took the batter out of the mixer and placed on a floured counter - pat it down to about 1in. Took a round biscuit cutter and made these to look like a restaurant. The flavor was perfect - great with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleShops

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I've never had sconed before, so I didn't really know what to expect, but I think they turned out well. The orange zest is really important, and I topped with 'Simple Orange Glaze' from this site, which gave them the extra sweetness I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reese, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
VERY GOOD as the recipe is. I made two circles over a baking sheet, mark the sections with a knife and put them in the oven. At 3/4 baking time cut wedges all the way through and brushed tops with 2 tablespoons of the cream/egg mix. I happen to have some bittersweet ganache leftover, took scones out of the oven and just for fun drizzle half with the chocolate... My family and I found that this little addition improves and enhance the flavors to make them EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Cake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Very good, light scones. I substituted half o fthe white flour for wheat, and used 3/4 c. heavy cream, plus a little whole milk since it was too dry with the cream, and sprinkled some sugar on top before baking. I prefer fresh cranberries in bread and dried in scones for the sweetness, so I will likely go back to my old recipe, but this one's in the file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
These were such a delicious treat. We threw in craisins because I didn't have enough cranberries and they were just as yummy, a bit sweeter. I used a basic sugar glaze recipe and did some zigzags to make them look pretty and a bit sweeter, cause I have a sweet tooth. Everyone loved them, and they looked expensive like they came right out of Starbucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Serve these bad boys warm with some lemon curd spread on top and their pretty good. Would give it 5 stars, but we aren't real big scone fans and jsut made them for dad and company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
These scones are DELICIOUS. I may have changed the recipe enough that I can't give an honest rating/review, but I still highly recommend it. I used cinnamon instead of nutmeg, dried cranberries instead of fresh, and I omitted the nuts. I didn't have an orange or half-and-half on hand, and ended up using orange yogurt and a splash of milk (until the texture was dough-like) in place of them. I also baked them as drop scones rather than fighting the dough into shape. My husband and I both love them and will likely be making another batch soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Super scone easy to make loved it. Added an orange glaze to the top and got a big smile from my son who is a die hard starbucks cranberry orange scone fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
These were a very bad thing for my family to have discovered. They are not overly sweet, which I love, and they are addictive. The only change I made to this was to dribble on a little orange glaze over the top of the warm scones, and I think it really finished them off nicely. They remind me of Christmastime. And it helps that my kids eat the heck out of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missivy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States