Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Nice scones, but they are more like muffins than scones to me. I've made a lot of scones, and the batter tends to be very sticky, but this, as a few other reviewers mentioned, was more like muffin batter. Not to be derailed, I added some more flour and plopped the circle of dough batter onto a plastic, oven safe mat, then used a pizza cutter to make lines before going in the oven. They turn out soft and a little moist, unlike scones. They taste really good, though, and I'm sure would make great muffins or round scones. Since I really wanted the traditional shape of scones, I just went with it. If you want more traditional scones flavor, I'd use probably at least half the liquid at least initially and then go from there. The cranberries, while great with the tartness, probably also adds to the wet factor, so you could try dried cranberries and eliminate the white sugar as well instead. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
These were very delicious. I used an ice cream scoop to portion out the dough instead of forming it into circles and cutting it. I ended up with 8 scones this way and plan to use a smaller scoop next time and shorten the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I made this recipe after reading the reviews, so I added an extra 1/2 stick of butter and half cup of flour, also substituted frozen blueberries for cranberries. They were still too sticky to knead, so I just formed the dough into 2 circles on a cookie sheet and cut into triangles. Absolutely not a scone, but a tasty cross between a muffin and a cake. We liked them as they were tasty, but the texture was simply not sconelike at all. I'm still looking for a wonderful scone recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Wow, these were really good! My family loved them and they don't normally like scones. I didn't have half and half so I used a half cup of milk instead. The batter was still very moist so I added an extra 1/4 c of flour to coat it. Also didn't use the nuts or orange zest. These were really moist, which I liked. Next time I think I will try blueberries instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Good scones, I followed the recipe exactly and the dough was way too sticky as others have mentionned. I did need to add more flour. Very good with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is by far, my favorite scone recipe!! I think the key to this recipe is letting the dough rest in the refrigerator for 1/2-1 hr. This made my scones really light and fluffy! As most have done, I've tweaked the recipe according to my own taste. This includes just 3/4 cups of craisins (fresh cranberries are hard to find year round, and 1 cup of craisins was just a little much for me), and a little over 1/4 cup of brown sugar (for the scones to be a little more sweet). The stickiness of the dough doesn't bother me b/c I end up not having to kneed it. Instead, I slowly pour in the cream and egg mixture while using a spatula to mix everything in until it's moist/sticky. I usually end up not using all of the cream/egg mix, and use the rest as a glaze for the scones. Then I top off the glaze w/ a sprinkle of sugar. =) Compared to other scone recipes that I've seen, this is a really healthy alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made these on the weekend. I too had to add extra flour. They were nice but I've had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
After reading the reviews on this recipe, I reduced the half and half to 1/2 cup and used dried cranberries. The dough was a bit sticky, but didn't take too much to hand pat out into the 6 inch circles with a floured board after coating them witha bit of flour. The end result was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
These taste fantastic!! I ended up making them with yogurt (vanilla) instead of the half and half. The flavor was great. The dough was a little loose so I worked it a little too much...next time I'll know
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I took these to a pre-Christmas celebration and I got rave reviews ("best scones I've ever tasted" from my mom!). For those that complain the batter is to runny, make sure to beat your cream and egg for awhile, do not just mix it. I had no problem kneading the dough or shaping it to cut perfect looking scones. I used craisins and toped with Orange Glaze 1 from this site. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States