Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I did this recipe as directed. Yes, the scones were very wet with the batter, so instead of adding so much flour, I simply split the recipe in half, dusted them with flour, then put each into a sprayed glass bread pan. No rolling, no fuss, and easy to cut into triangles after they cooled. Now I need a glaze recipe of some sort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Rios Morrison

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Used craisins so did eliminated step with sugar and orange. Used Splenda brown sugar blend - otherwise followed recipe exactly. Looking forward to trying with other additions (e.g. chocolate chunks, raisins, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Great recipe! I used toasted almonds instead of walnuts, due to allergy, but they are fabulous! Took them to a cookie exchange and they loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Very easy to make and tastes wonderful. Scones are a bit sticky from my experiences, so that wasn't a surprise to me. My entire family loved it and it's a way for me o use cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I made a couple of adjustments to the recipe. I only used one-half cup of 1/2 and 1/2 which was plently of liquid. I did still need to add a bit more flour when I kneaded the dough. I dusted the top of the scones with bakers' sugar before baking. I brought them for a "food day" at work. They were very well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catherine VW
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
The recipe doesn't really say when to add the fruit/nuts, so I did it after the wet ingredients and kneeded it in. Turned out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine VW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Very tasty! I used vanilla yogurt and heavy cream instead of the half and half and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by invierno_eterno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Delicious! I traded out the walnuts for flax seed and used 1 tbsp orange juice instead of orange zest. They came out moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Nice scones, but they are more like muffins than scones to me. I've made a lot of scones, and the batter tends to be very sticky, but this, as a few other reviewers mentioned, was more like muffin batter. Not to be derailed, I added some more flour and plopped the circle of dough batter onto a plastic, oven safe mat, then used a pizza cutter to make lines before going in the oven. They turn out soft and a little moist, unlike scones. They taste really good, though, and I'm sure would make great muffins or round scones. Since I really wanted the traditional shape of scones, I just went with it. If you want more traditional scones flavor, I'd use probably at least half the liquid at least initially and then go from there. The cranberries, while great with the tartness, probably also adds to the wet factor, so you could try dried cranberries and eliminate the white sugar as well instead. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
These were very delicious. I used an ice cream scoop to portion out the dough instead of forming it into circles and cutting it. I ended up with 8 scones this way and plan to use a smaller scoop next time and shorten the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States