Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
just tried this recipe; great as is! Haven't a clue how others are getting muffin batter from this unless perhaps they didn't properly chill butter. Was a typical wet scone dough. One must keep flour to the side of pastry board when kneeding dough and be sure to have hands floured as well but don't actually add extra flour to the recipe or your scones will be tough & dry. Thanks this is a keeper ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
The scones were actually quite tasty. I substituted slivered almonds for the walnuts. But, the batter was really wet (noted by some others), and the scones ended up almost having the consistency of bread rather than the satisfying denseness of a scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This is a great base recipe. I made a few changes which is the only reason I have it a 3. Instead of nutmeg I used cinnamon, instead of cream I used a 1/2 cup of far free Greek yogurt. I did not add the nuts. I also cut the orange after zesting and used half of the juice. I just dropped spoonfuls onto the cookie sheet instead of shaping and cutting it. Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdembo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Flavors are there, but I couldn't grade the texture because I kept having to add more flour - maybe 3/4 c more - and the dough became gluey. Way off on the liquid to dry ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Very good. And relatively easy. Forget the kneading part. It's too sticky. I used almond milk and it was wonderful! Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Absolutely delicious! As a treat, I made this for my "border-line" diabetic husband. I eliminated sugars and zest; I used 1/2 cup no fat plain yogurt with 1/2 cup dried mixed fruit and 1/2 cup walnuts. He loved the scones, saying it took him back to tea time on our cruises!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I found these to be lacking a bit on flavor and a tad dry. I will keep searching for my go to scone recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
These are very good ! I made a confectionary sugar glaze with almond extract to drizzle over them. Definitely will save this recipe and make many more times ! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Gallant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
a great recipe - a bit more work but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States