Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by darlingster
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I may have used 1/2 cup grated butter, I didn't use nuts. They turn out fabulous for my first at scones. Will try other variations next time. Thx for recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I found it was too much baking powder in this recipe and my scorns deflated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I left out the nuts and instead put in white chocolate chips! Delicious! Can taste the nutmeg flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I doubled this recipe according to calculations. The "dough" was so sticky, I could not handle it. I added up to an extra cup of flour and it still looked like muffin batter. So I had to make muffins. Very disappointed as I was making this for someone from England and I wanted to surprise her with authentic scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made the recipe as is except for the walnuts. The dough is indeed too sticky, and I was scrupulous about keeping the butter cold, cut in like a good pastry, and not over-handling the dough. I would definitely reduce the half and half from 3/4 of a cup to 1/2 cup, but add about one more tablespoon of butter to make up for the fat loss. The flavor was good - just the dough was not very workable, and the texture was too soft for scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
good flavor and easy to make, i'll probably add about 1/4 to 1/2 cup more flour next time so they don't flatten out so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
After reading the comments, I used only 1/2 cup of cream. NO KNEADING for scones, and I have the KAF mini scone pan that I use for brownies as well. Love the crispy edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
just tried this recipe; great as is! Haven't a clue how others are getting muffin batter from this unless perhaps they didn't properly chill butter. Was a typical wet scone dough. One must keep flour to the side of pastry board when kneeding dough and be sure to have hands floured as well but don't actually add extra flour to the recipe or your scones will be tough & dry. Thanks this is a keeper ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
The scones were actually quite tasty. I substituted slivered almonds for the walnuts. But, the batter was really wet (noted by some others), and the scones ended up almost having the consistency of bread rather than the satisfying denseness of a scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States