Cranberry, Sausage and Apple Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This stuffing is incredible! Instead of leeks, I used 4 cups of chopped onion. I also used Bob Evans Pork Sausage instead of sweet italian sausage. This was so moist and full of flavor. It made enough to stuff the turkey and fill a baking dish. It's worth the preparation and I'll definitely be making this again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This stuffing was incredible!!!!!!!!I think that it was one of my most "complimented" cooking efforts--and I cook all the time:)It made two pans (11x9) and i made one without onions and one with. I used onion instead of leeks and used about 2 cups. I absolutely think that the Italian sausage makes this recipe, so if you can make it that way I highly recommend it. I added the broth last pouring a little over one cup over the ingredients in each pan then used a spatula to press the broth into the stuffing. I covered the pans and let the stuffing sit for about 30 mins and then baked as directed. One comment was it has a gourmet flavor, another had leftovers for breakfast because they absolutely loved it and everyone basically just raved about it. Thank you so much for this recipe that made this Thanksgiving so special!!!!!!!!!!Peggy in Texas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I don't normally eat stuffing but this one is terrific and my family loves it. Even my four year old niece likes it. I use pedridge farm corn bread crumbs instead of white bread crumbs which gives it much more flavor and sauteed onions in garlic instead of leeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I tried this recipe about 3 years ago from allrecipes.com and my whole family loves it! It's the only stuffing recipe I use now. I don't go to the extent of drying my own bread cubes. I buy the pre-packaged one from the store and the recipe turns out great. You won't be dissapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daly City, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This is an excellent recipe. I did use the pork sausage but should have stayed with the turkey sausage. I did not stuff the turkey and so baked the stuffing in the oven separately. Worked great. The cranberries presented beautifully around the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This stuffing is excellent when paired with the maple roast turkey, but beware if you're cooking for picky eaters. It doesn't look like your typical stuffing and if you can't get anybody to eat it then they won't know how good it is. I had so many leftovers I didn't know what to do with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWPEACH210

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This was a total hit! I did however substitute cornbread for the white bread which I think enhanced the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
In the words of Simon Cowell, this stuffing is "absolutely fantastic." I made this stuffing for Thanksgiving, and even though the recipe says it's good for a 10-14lb turkey, I stuffed an 18 pound turkey and still had left overs. It was beautiful to look at, and the leeks and cranberries gave it a great flavor. Everyone loved it. Even the person who I thought wouldn't like the fruit in it loved it. I even bought him a box of Stove Top, and he didn't want it, because he loved my stuffing so much. Thank you, Ibby!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
This tuffing goes very well with Maple Roast Turkey and Gravy recipe. A little complicated to make (you're gonna wanna do this one the day before or you'll surely be lagging behind) but well worth it. Measurements area little off. You are going to want to cut the leeks to 3 cups instaed of 6.....way too many leeks. I would go as far s saying that next to my dad's oyster stuffing, this is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Great - need to add more chicken broth - depending on bread used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States