Cranberry, Sausage and Apple Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Excellent, easy, and delicious. I did use the leeks - and three large leeks measured out to the 6 cups. I was worried about the large amount of leeks in the recipe, but they were an excellent addition to the recipe and cooked down considerably. I did use turkey sausage as the recipe submittor suggested. I also used dried cherries instead of cranberries. About 3/4s of a 1-pound loaf of white bread produced 12 cups of bread cubes called for in the recipe, which I toasted briefly in my oven as it preheated. This looked elegant on the table - very impressive. I baked it alone, rather than stuffing my bird, so I used just a bit extra chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Really 4.5 stars because of my "liquid dilemma"...see below. This is the best stuffing/dressing I have ever eaten. I've never been one to put sausage in my dressing...it just seemed too "unhealthy," but is it ever great! Because I like the convenience, I substitute Pepperidge Farm Seasoned Bread Cubes (any type or combination...white/wheat/cornbread) for the do-it-yourself white bread cubes. Therefore, I don't add any poultry seasoning...but don't leave out the rosemary! Here's the one problem I've had with this recipe each time...how much chicken stock to use? Since I make it as dressing (not stuffing, which goes inside the bird), it comes out VERY dry with only 1 and 1/3 cans. This time I went to three cans, but I can't seem to get the amount quite right...it was still somewhat dry. Despite my "liquid dilemma," this has been the most complimented on and most requested holiday recipe I've ever used...other than my Bourbon Cranberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sukiyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Roeland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I got lots of great feedback on this stuffing. I made it to take to my daughter's Thanksgiving feast at school this week. I used 4 cups of onions instead of the leeks. It seemed like an awful lot of onion, but once it was cooked it tasted great. Because the feast was at lunch time, I made this the night before and heated it the next day. If anything, I think it improved the flavor because it all had time to meld together. Just remember to factor in extra baking time if you do this. It really took quite a while for all that cold stuffing to heat up. However, it would be nice to be able to make this the night before Thanksgiving and just heat it up on Thanksgiving, leaving more time for all those other dishes that need your attention.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
We have served this several years in a row and LOVE it. I do alter it a smidge by adding a little more chicken broth at the end (which I believe the directions forgot to tell you to add in the first place but it is in the ingredient list.) Instead of 1 1/3 cups I add 2 cups. This year I made it with sourdough bread and it turned out divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Real Food Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This stuffing was a hit with my skeptical family. We've been having the same stuffing for so many years, they reluctantly agreed for me to make it in addition to the usual one, and now they are requesting that I make it every time we have turkey. This makes a big quantity, so I froze half and used it later with turkey leftovers and just needed to remoisten it with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2000
Excellent change of pace from the traditional stuffing. Slightly sweet, yet with a great flavor, I am going to make this one every year! Note: The stuffing is better if made outside of the Turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I have been using this recipe for 2 years now.....I now have to make 2 pans of it just so everyone can have some. I don't stuff the turkey with it just bake it in the oven. I put it together the night before and add a little extra broth before baking. I use 3-4 cups of leeks and an extra apple sometimes I go to the butcher shop and get orange sausage to mix flavors up. I don't just make it for Christmas Thanksgiving and Easter. I also make it for my kids and they take it for lunch. Thanks for Sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This is wonderful, I made it for Christmas Eve and everyone loved it, the only thing is it wasn't moist enough, I would add more chicken stock next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This was a great stuffing for our Thanksgiving dinner, very easy to make and delicious! I did use a bag of stuffing bread cubes instead of toasting my own bread which may make it taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Kurek Restrepo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made this today and only did a few substitutions. First, I am vegetarian so I substituted pears for the sausage and veggie broth for the chicken broth. I was making a Maple Dijon glazed Quorn brand Turk'y roast to go with it. After cooking the Turk'y roast for 20 minutes on 425F, I added the stuffing mix and placed the turk'y on top and brushed on the glaze. I let it all bake for 15 minutes at 400F, added more glaze, then baked it for another 15 minutes. This made the turk'y and stuffing perfect! Even the ladies at church were shocked to have a vegetarian turk'y and stuffing there, but it was definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treehuggr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hernando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States