Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Okay, after nearly 31 years of cooking, my search for the "definitive" cranberry sauce recipe is over! This recipe is fantastic!! I doubled it, split the sugar between half white and half brown and added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon (next time I will take that down to 1/4 teaspoon). I cooked this for almost 20 minutes. This was the best cranberry sauce I have ever had! I used to just resort to canned because I never seemed to be able to make a "good" cranberry sauce. Toni, thank you for sharing this recipe, it was another huge hit on our Thanksgiving table this past weekend. (We had to celebrate early this year.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1417 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I mixed this recipe with another one I use. I boiled the cranberries and sugar in 1/2 cup OJ and 1/2 cup unsweetened pineapple juice until they popped. Then I added 6 oz. of fresh raspberries and mashed the whole thing. Finally, I added 1/4 cup grand marinier, a 14 oz. can of crushed pineapple (drained), and some crushed peacans. I cooked the mixture on medium heat until thickened, and refrigerated overnight. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
752 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This is so good! I am a big fan of the canned jellied cranberry sauce, but now I am a convert. Never again will I buy cranberry sauce, I will always make it. This was so easy to make...and SO DELICIOUS! And yes,cranberries do pop when boiled, so put the splatter guard on and let the kids listen. I let them cook longer than 10 minutes just so it would get a little thicker, but after it is cooled it does thicken up more. While they were boiling I gave them a good mash or two with my potato masher and the consistency was perfect. Thank you Toni!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
574 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
I made this recipe this Thanksgiving, but changed it slightly. I added about 1 tsp grated orange rind and after the berrys were cooked down I added about 1/8 cup of Grand Marinier. Not too many of my family like cranberries in any shape for form, but my nephew ( 13 years old ) loved it and asked to take some home. I loved it and even put it on top of my oatmeal the next morning. The juice was wonderful. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I was frantic for a quick and easy recipe as my other cranberry did not turn out as expected. I chose this one. As most of the reviewers pointed out, this was runny, but the flavor was great and the color was beautiful. Adding a touch of grand marnier is ingenious. If you want a more gelled sauce, simply cut the OJ to 1/2 cup! Once they start popping mash them with the back of a spoon. This will gel in just a few hours in the fridge. As it is, it is more of a delicious cranberry preserve - very spreadable for sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Great recipe. If you like it on the thick side like me I would recommend cooking it a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
To give it a little more flavour I added only 3/4 of a cup of orange juice and after it was cooked I added 1/4 cup of Grand Marnier. MMMMMMMMMMMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
At Thanksgiving, my 70 year old father said this was "just like mom used to make". It doesn't get any better than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I have been making this for several years now and it is ALWAYS a huge hit at my Thanksgiving dinner! Even people who don't normally eat cranberry sauce seem to enjoy this. I have learned over the years a few little secrets to perfect this recipe... First, use half cup of white sugar and half cup of brown sugar. Second, add a few pinches of cinnamon to your desired taste. Other than those couple of things, make it as directed. It really couldn't be easier or any more delicious! Trust me, you will never go back to the canned junk again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Way too sweet. Using orange juice over water adds extra sugar/calories and taste that takes away from the tart nature of the cranberries. I would also recommend less sugar. No reason to take healthy cranberries and ruin them in a sugar-laden sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States