Cranberry Sauce with Jalapeno Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
We made this last year and can't wait to make it again. I gave it four stars ONLY because we made a few changes...to us, it wasn't hot enough, even our picky 4 & 5 yr old "non-spicy-eating" daughters ate it. This could just have been the jalapeno peppers I got, which vary due to ripeness, etc, so I plan on doubling up or leaving in some seeds this year. Also we used 100% cranberry/pomegranate juice in place of the water (YUM!) and omitted the sherry based on other comments. Finally, I pureed the finished product and while it seemed a little thin while hot, it jelled up nicely if you prefer a smoother consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garfield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Based on some previous reviews I made a couple changes. I used 2/3 cup water and 1/3 cup lite corn syrup and 1/2 cup Splenda in place of the sugar. Left out the lemon juice and substitute triple sec for the sherry. This was amazing! It tasted like jalapeno jelly with cranberries. I'll be making it again and every Thanksgiving from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke789

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I love cranberry sauce and this was really a new take on things for me with the jalapenos. NOTE: if you remove the seeds AND MEMBRANES of the jalapeno you will remove most of the heat yet retain the pepper flavor! The membranes hold the heat so if you don't want the heat...plus I used 1/4 cup high-quality pear-flavored vodka rather than the sherry; I think sherry makes things a little cloying in any recipe, but that's just me. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joy-of-jesus-smileymom
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I love sherry in tetrazzini and stroganoff, but not this. I added it bit by bit, and wish I stopped at 2 Tbsp. or left it out. I doubled the lemon juice. I think this recipe has promise, but can't figure out what it needs. Green pepper, like jalapeno jelly? I am going to experiment further, and definitely add less water and more jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
For kicks, leave in the jalapeno seeds and use vodka instead of sherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
A great variation on the traditional cranberry sauce. My sauce turned out a little runny, so I'm going to work on ways to make it 'jell' a little more. But, overall, it was a hit at our table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIBOWERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This recipe rocked with my slight changes: instead of lemon juice I used the zest and juice from one orange, and I didn't have sherry so I used Captain Morgan Tattoo Rum, which is dark and spicy and citrusy. I let the sauce simmer a bit to cook off the alcohol for the kids. It was the most incredible cranberry sauce this family ever had....it was gone in a heartbeat! The chant was "Make More, Mom!" My last tip: DOUBLE THE RECIPE! Always wear gloves when seeding and mincing the jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parrotheadTink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Paula, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was yummy. The spice level was just enough to add a hint (without seeds), and the jalapenos added a little bit more texture which was great on sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
my family loves this cranberry sauce, not to hot just perfect, can't wait for thanksgiving to enjoy it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Followed the recipe exactly and it was a little runny. But the flavor was delish. Those who like hot/spicy loved it. It made plenty and have some left over for christmas. Maybe cooking it a little longer would help with the thinness, but we just used a slotted spoon and all was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

See how to make mango cranberry sauce with a secret kick.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States