Cranberry Sauce with Jalapeno Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This was really good! The jalapeno really added a lot to the recipe. I'm going to have to add jalapens whenever I make cranberry sauce from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This recipe rocked with my slight changes: instead of lemon juice I used the zest and juice from one orange, and I didn't have sherry so I used Captain Morgan Tattoo Rum, which is dark and spicy and citrusy. I let the sauce simmer a bit to cook off the alcohol for the kids. It was the most incredible cranberry sauce this family ever had....it was gone in a heartbeat! The chant was "Make More, Mom!" My last tip: DOUBLE THE RECIPE! Always wear gloves when seeding and mincing the jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parrotheadTink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Paula, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Cut sugar 25% which I think was the right amount. Also used a splash of Grand Marnier and a splash of vodka right after cooking it down. I don't know if it needed the liquor. I used 2 tiny, very spicy homegrown jalapenos and it had a good heat level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Wanted to try another variation of the run-of-the-mill sauce and this one hit the mark! Excellent flavors all melded together into a mouth watering accompaniment to the turkey. Only change we made was to sub chardonnay wine for the sherry (only cuz we didn't have it). Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Great cranberry sauce. I did have to add some more jalapenos because the kids said it wasn't spicy enough. It still was not hot enough for the adults, so I added about 7 habanero peppers towards the end. My family LOVED it!!! My husband said that it is the best cranberry sauce he's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was yummy. The spice level was just enough to add a hint (without seeds), and the jalapenos added a little bit more texture which was great on sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I love cranberry sauce and this was really a new take on things for me with the jalapenos. NOTE: if you remove the seeds AND MEMBRANES of the jalapeno you will remove most of the heat yet retain the pepper flavor! The membranes hold the heat so if you don't want the heat...plus I used 1/4 cup high-quality pear-flavored vodka rather than the sherry; I think sherry makes things a little cloying in any recipe, but that's just me. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
We made this last year and can't wait to make it again. I gave it four stars ONLY because we made a few changes...to us, it wasn't hot enough, even our picky 4 & 5 yr old "non-spicy-eating" daughters ate it. This could just have been the jalapeno peppers I got, which vary due to ripeness, etc, so I plan on doubling up or leaving in some seeds this year. Also we used 100% cranberry/pomegranate juice in place of the water (YUM!) and omitted the sherry based on other comments. Finally, I pureed the finished product and while it seemed a little thin while hot, it jelled up nicely if you prefer a smoother consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garfield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Based on some previous reviews I made a couple changes. I used 2/3 cup water and 1/3 cup lite corn syrup and 1/2 cup Splenda in place of the sugar. Left out the lemon juice and substitute triple sec for the sherry. This was amazing! It tasted like jalapeno jelly with cranberries. I'll be making it again and every Thanksgiving from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke789

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
my family loves this cranberry sauce, not to hot just perfect, can't wait for thanksgiving to enjoy it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States