Cranberry Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I needed to try this recipe before serving it to 28 guests this Thanksgiving. 1st, I made this recipe exactly as specified. I did see the words.. "simmer until cranberries pop" and decided to use "frying screen" over the pot. Thank goodness! LOL The recipe is marvelous as it is. Then I made it a 2nd time, using 1 bag cranberries, 1/2 cup brown and 1/2 cup of white sugar, 2/3 cup OJ and 1/4 cup of water. I couldn't justify boiling down Gran Manier, so I added 2 Tablespoons AFTER the berry mixture was done heating. LUCIOUS!!!! Remember to use a spatter screen and let the sauce set for at least 4 hours. Perfect consistancy and texture as well as flavors. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
769 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Excellent as is without any changes. thanks for this excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
535 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This was wonderful sauce. I made it especially for my Dad as he loves cranberry sauce with his turkey. Both him and my grandmother raved at how awesome it was. I did make a few changes as suggested by other reviewers: I used half white & half brown sugar, half water & half orange juice. I also put just a touch (probably less than 1/8 tsp) of cinnamon. Thank you so much for sharing such a great recipe - it made a wonderful addition to my family's Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I just made this minutes ago and it is wonderful! I did do some changes as suggested by previous reviews. I did 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup orange juice, 1/2 cup water. I also let it simmer longer than 10 minutes..about 20 and mashed the cranberries. It is the perfect constancy. Can't wait to serve this tommorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I could not stand cranberry sauce before this. All I had ever tasted was the kind straight out of the can. But, my family loves to have it for their turkey, and I can't deny them that. However, I figured I could make it from scratch and see if they liked that even better. Boy, did they. My hubby and 11 yr. old nephew were eating it by the spoonfuls! I decided to give it a little taste since everyone was going on so much about it. OMG!!! It was awesome! I couldn't believe the difference in having fresh cranberry sauce. I will definitely have a little something at every holiday now to dress up my sliced turkey! And I will never disgrace my family with the canned stuff again. I took a few suggestions and used half white sugar, half brown, and added 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon. AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This reminds me of my grandmother's sauce. I also did half white, half brown sugar and added 1/8 tsp of cinnamon and about 1/2 tsp of grated orange zest. It is easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I don't eat cranberries, but everyone in my family thinks this is fantastic. They can't believe how easy it is to make! I hollowed out a large orange to serve it in, and used cinnamon sticks for garnish, which made a great presentation and enhanced the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
The sugar and the orange juice offset the tartness of the cranberries to provide a nice blend of flavors. I altered this recipe just a little by bringing the entire cranberry mixture to a boil, and then letting it gently boil for about 10-12 minutes. Then I turned the stove off and just let it sit on the hot burner for awhile. The consistency turned out perfect...not too runny. We all loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura W.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
OUTSTANDING! I used a hand mixer to puree the completed sauce before cooling. Even those who don't like other cranberry sauce loved this. Even easier than opening the canned stuff, and a billion times better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
OOOOH do I love cranberry sauce. This is a very tasty version of my love. I am pretty much the only one who eats it in my immediate family, but I can't wait to share at Moms for Thanksgiving! Thanks Toni!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 766) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States