Cranberry Sauce Extraordinaire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Alison722
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I made this recipe last Thanksgiving, and I am making it again this year because everyone loved it. I have never liked cranberry sauce (mostly because the only kind that was ever served to me was the jelly kind out of the can...ew). When I spent a Thanksgiving in China a couple of years ago, I ate Thanksgiving dinner at an American restaurant called Grandma's Kitchen. They served a traditional Thanksgiving meal, complete with cranberry sauce. It was more like a cranberry sauce salad, and it was delicious. I wanted to try to replicate it because it was the first time I liked a cranberry sauce. I found this recipe and it's pretty close, and actually, a million times better (and that is saying a lot). This recipe will be a staple for me for every Thanksgiving. Some members of my family will still have the canned jelly cranberry sauce, but I will still make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I cook this every Thanksgiving, especially for my mom. It is delicious with cream cheese on Wheat Thins. Yum! Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori Flores

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Benito, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
FABULOUS! I actually became a member of this site just so I can tell the world how extraordinarily good this recipe is. The pureed orange is a fabulous ingredient! The pecans are a must as the nutty flavor is a fabulous compliment to the cranberry. Dried fruit, apples, and pears, can be modified without altering the overall deliciousness of this cranberry sauce. I like the spices just as they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This is truely great. So after reading the reviews I decided to double the recipe. I have a lot of people who come in all week and so I wanted extra for bagels and cream cheese one morning and for waffles mixed with maple surup another morning. I wanted enough to put on top of the block of cream cheese at the cheese board and I wanted enough for the top of a cheesecake a few days this week. Then of course I needed some for the thanksgiving table. I even had some to fill two canning jars and pot in the refrigerator for take home left overs for my sister and brother. So here is how I changed the recipe after reading all the reviews. I used black currents to make the sauce dark red. I also through in a cup of big black blackberries that are in season and that also helped with a rich color. I used the juice of a can of mandarin oranges with blue berry juice from trader joes instead of the water to also make a beautiful dark syrup because I had read that people were putting food coloring in the sauce to darken it. Mine turned out dark purple red. and it tastes fabulous. I cut the sugar a bit and the cinnamon to a dash. And I through in a pinch of nutmeg, mace and cloves and ground ginger. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I used the mandarin oranges, dried cranberries, dried apricots and replaced 2/3rd's the sugar with baking Splenda. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. I doubled the recipe and frozen the excess for upcoming Thanksgiving potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Years ago I made this cranberry sauce recipe - it was for a Thanksgiving Luncheon at work. Many dishes were entered into "The Best of . . . " contest - and I won for the best cranberry sauce. So, I always say that I am going to make may award winning cranberry sauce. BTW, it was the first time I ever made cranberry sauce - it's fabulous. It freezes beautifully, so that you can enjoy it year round. I put it in a pretty container, and I give it as a gift during the holidays too. K
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I'm not sure why anyone would call this a trade secret as this is the recipe we all grew up eating in northern Minnesota. My grandmother who lived to be 97 passed this recipe on to me and I use this "fruit" sauce recipe one year and the next year I make my Mom's cranberry sauce and back and forth.My Iowa side of the family also uses the recipe. It's good but we like all cranberry and fruit sauces from many different sources. Happy Thanksgiving everyone-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Nisswa, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
A very tasty, tarty,...and colorful addition to the Thanksgiving feast! A nice alternative to the usual cranberry sauce options. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is my Thanksgiving staple cranberry sauce recipe. The taste and texture are perfect and it makes enought that I follow Leeza's recommendation of serving it over a block of cream cheese with crackers for a appetizer and its OH-SO-YUMMY!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasanton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Perfect! Sweet like a dessert, many people who didn't like cranberry sauce said they thought this was great. It is rich though, so most people only ate a few bites of it. I made a single batch for 15 people and had about half leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 453) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States