Cranberry Sauce Extraordinaire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Out of this world good. Will be making this again and again. Yummy with Turkey or Pork, heck good enough to just eat with a spoon out of the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Very yummy. I omitted the nuts because I didn't have any on hand. I made it the night before eating it and the flavors had time to marry. I froze the remainder so we'll see how it is at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LERIN26

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
A little sweet I would cut down the sugar next time. I was wondering could you can this?? I would love to make a lot and give it out as a gift!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
It was wonderful! Putting it on the leftover turkey sandwiches was awesome. I will definitely make this next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
always hated cranberry sauce and never made it for the holidays~ would buy it from a can for my mom~ decided to try this recipe and not only did it blow my mothers mind but everyone else at thanksgiving dinner! It was a sweet treat that everyone enjoyed for days w/ dinner over ice-cream and alone~ thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Part 2 of 2 Parts!! [CHEF'S NOTE: The second time, on my commercial range, I chose not to simmer, but to use a low boil instead once the syrup was ready. The cranberries began to burst almost as soon as they were immersed, and my doubled recipe was cooked in about 15 minutes, contributing to the apples and pears retaining their consistency. I recommend the higher heat instead of the longer simmer.] A double recipe yields a little more than 3 quarts. And I can tell you it won't be enough! The finished product is very jam-like in texture, and reducing the sugar helps to not overwhelm the tartness of the cranberries. You will not want to pass on this recipe. It is a genuine crowd pleaser! You may find that doubling again (to 4x) will provide the leftovers you'll be sorry you didn't have more of. We have used this on toast and even as an ice cream topping!! (Try it, you'll love it.) It will make an excellent gift when packed in 1/2 pint mason jars using a standard jam hot-pack method. Just tell the recipients to use it as soon as possible so they can ask you for the recipe before all the cranberries are gone from the market until next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
As a professional chef, I knew this was a winning recipe when I saw it "on screen". You will NOT be disappointed by this recipe which is easy enough for your child to do with supervision. I made this for the first time -- twice in the same week. First in a crockpot overnight, then on the stovetop. Both times doubling the recipe and omitting the nuts and salt (no reason for salt in this recipe at all). Also reduced the sugar to 1-3/4 cups instead of 2 cups. Used smaller-sized navel oranges pureed to juice and pulp in a food processor, and golden raisins, mediterranean apricots, mango slices, and dark cherries as the dried fruit (all but the raisins chopped in the food processor with steel knife blade), and Granny Smith apples and Bosc pears cut by hand. In a 6-quart crockpot overnight, the apples and pears broke down and became indistinguishable in the sauce. And the lower heat of the crockpot means having to "help" the cranberries to burst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I really liked it, but most people didn't eat it. My husband's family's not very adventurous so I should've known better. More left overs for me! I also liked it on a bagel with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Awesome, first time ever making cranberry sauce and everyone loved it. I did use double the liquid, omitted the dried fruit and next time would cut down the sugar. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUKHASA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I really like this cranberry! The cinnamon and pecans added quite a special touch! So delicious and easy to make. I will serve this again at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virginia McDonald Innes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 181-190 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Cranberry Sauce

Make this easy, crowd-pleasing cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States