Cranberry Sauce Extraordinaire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This recipe came the closest to my Mom's which was delicious. I tripled the recipe and made it last night for my office Thanksgiving luncheon today (50+). I won the contest for best cranberry sauce! I am passing along the recipe to my co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I have made this recipe for the last two Thanksgiving dinners and everyone loves it. Every year everyone requests that I make this special cranberry sauce. For the chopped dry fruit I use dried apricots and raisins. Also, I will put half the mixture in the food processor, pulse it a few times and add the finely chopped to the cooked portion. All the family says that my sauce makes the whole holiday feast so much better. I might try the crock pot method but I not sure if I should make any changes as it is great as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is a wonderful cranberry sauce! Everyone makes me bring it to Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I would like to try this recipe using crushed pineapples instead of the pear. Has anyone tried using pineapple or not used the pear?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I have used this recipe for years and anyone who eats it thinks it rocks.... try it this Thanksgiving...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was so good. The only thing I'll change next time I make it (and there will be a next time; I'll never look for another cranberry sauce recipe again!) will be to soak the dried fruit in brandy before adding it. That's the only thing I missed from my previous cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This is by far the best cranberry mixture I have ever had the pleasure of making and eating. The difference in this recipe is that there are all kinds of things. The "purist" cranberries (ie. cranberries, orange juice and sugar) are still wonderful, don't get me wrong! But to have such a decadent and surprising change will thrill your guests (if you are cooking for a party)! There are those who will always hate cranberries, but those who just "didn't care for them" before fall in love with them after this recipe. Try it out, and don;t be afraid to mix it up a bit with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Followed the recipe mostly, however I used 13.5 oz (3 cups) of fresh picked low-bush cranberries, 1 granny smith apple, 1 bosch pear, 1 purreed navel orange, no nuts (lethal allergies in the family), and currants for the dried fruit (since that's all we had). The cinnamon was a little overpowering, and I added 2 pinches of ground cloves, a pinch of ground ginger, and a pinch of mace to even out the flavour. At first I was scared that the sauce was too sweet, but after the cranberries burst it turned into a perfect tart-sweet combination and a beautiful deep red-burgandy colour. Bonus: The currants plumped up and looked like little cranberries. Everyone loved it! Even the anti-cranberry sauce folks! The bf covered a third of his plate with a helping of this on it's own. The recipe yielded so much that we are using the rest for a cheesecake topping later this week. Love the versatility of the recipe! Next time will omit salt (not needed), maybe try some orange zest, play around with maple syrup instead of sugar, try using anjou pear, and only use a pinch of cinnamon, nutmeg and the spices used above. I'll also try some batches with nuts when my mom isn't around, and one without spices at all for comparison. This will be a year-round recipe. Thanks! I noticed a lot of comments regarding too sweet or too tart, which does come from the type of dried fruit used as mentioned, but can also be affected by the fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I wish someone in their review had stated this recipe tasted a lot like mincemeat and nothing like cranberry sauce. I'm not impressed neither was anyone in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States