Cranberry Sauce Extraordinaire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I've made this a couple times now and it is good but tedious considering it is just cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Going to have to give this one another try seeing as I confused dried mixed fruit with candied fruit. Just a note though, if your even thinking of using candied fruit….. even by mistake, DON'T! Feel free to laugh amongst yourselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrdodd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parker City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Daleville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
If I could give it more than 5 stars, I would! So delicious. Tried making it with half the sugar as suggested in some of the reviews, but it was way too tart, so I ended up adding the rest that the recipe calls for, and it was perfect. Not too sweet. I used a tropical fruit mix and it was great. The pecans make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This one was a Thanksgiving surprise! So simple to make and all of our guests, even the kids, raved and raved! Personally, I am accustomed to cranberry sauce being a tad tart; whereas this recipe turned out so sweet that it had a "candied" taste to it. It is definitely a keeper, but I'll try less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC Daddio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving and we all loved it! I did not add the pear or dried fruit, but it still turned out great! I will make this each year for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This cranberry sauce is excellent. It was a big hit at dinner last night and will surely become one of our new traditions with turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Excellent, I had to add a little more water as it cooked. I had to use a spoon to pop about 10 of the berries. But this is excellent!!! I'll never by store prepared again...This is a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vermont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Love this recipe- Make it every year! I am however, very bad about measuring. I did measure the sugar and water(my son has Type 1 Diabetes and we need to keep track of carbs!) This year I used a bag of cranberries I have thrown in the freezer a couple months ago, as well as a handful of frozen blueberries we had picked this summer. Dried fruit was mostly apricots and prunes that I diced up. That's the GREAT thing about this, you can play with what fruit you put in, and how much and it ALWAYS turns out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This is absolutely delicious!!! I made it exactly as written minus the pecans because I'm allergic. I made it tonight because Thanksgiving is in the morning, and I could not believe it was so delicious I was sneaking bites by the spoonful. It makes a big bowl full so there will be plenty, but I NEVER eat cranberry sauce, so me eating it by the spoonful says a lot!!!! This will be my recipe from now on. Thank You so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aubandkendylsma
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made this tonight for Thanksgiving tomorrow. I have never written a review on here, but signed up to comment on this. I do not even like cranberries...at all. By themselves, sauce, juice... but I knew there had to be a way to make them delicious. I literally googled "cranberry sauce for people that don't like cranberry sauce" and stumbled on this recipe. The 400+ reviews told me this was it. SO easy and SO delicious! I decided it did sound like something that would be better the next day after the flavors merry, so that's what I am doing. It was WONDERFUL tonight, so it can only get better for tomorrow. I followed the recipe except I added about 1/4 cup brown sugar in addition to the cup of white sugar, and I did not add any dried fruit because I was so puzzled at the store about which dried fruit to buy. I also used 1 small can of mandarin oranges instead of a whole orange. I blended the oranges to a pulp. None of the combinations of packaged dried fruits sounded good in this, and let me tell ya, this is NOT lacking. So cinnamon-y... I read on here some people used less sugar, there is no way I would use less sugar next time. Its perfect. Still a little tart, but more sweet than tart. The side by side picture I posted is when I first put it in the pan on the left (beautiful that way too...) and on the right is the completed sauce. I did need to cook it a little more than 30 minutes because it needed to cook down some. This will definitely be a new holiday staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States