Cranberry Sauce Extraordinaire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by aubandkendylsma
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made this tonight for Thanksgiving tomorrow. I have never written a review on here, but signed up to comment on this. I do not even like cranberries...at all. By themselves, sauce, juice... but I knew there had to be a way to make them delicious. I literally googled "cranberry sauce for people that don't like cranberry sauce" and stumbled on this recipe. The 400+ reviews told me this was it. SO easy and SO delicious! I decided it did sound like something that would be better the next day after the flavors merry, so that's what I am doing. It was WONDERFUL tonight, so it can only get better for tomorrow. I followed the recipe except I added about 1/4 cup brown sugar in addition to the cup of white sugar, and I did not add any dried fruit because I was so puzzled at the store about which dried fruit to buy. I also used 1 small can of mandarin oranges instead of a whole orange. I blended the oranges to a pulp. None of the combinations of packaged dried fruits sounded good in this, and let me tell ya, this is NOT lacking. So cinnamon-y... I read on here some people used less sugar, there is no way I would use less sugar next time. Its perfect. Still a little tart, but more sweet than tart. The side by side picture I posted is when I first put it in the pan on the left (beautiful that way too...) and on the right is the completed sauce. I did need to cook it a little more than 30 minutes because it needed to cook down some. This will definitely be a new holiday staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
It definitely lives up to its name! I'll never use canned cranberry sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
More fruity than cranberry... though I'm sure it tastes delicious served with meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I have been making this cranberry sauce since 2004! It's that good! My guests loved that it had more texture than traditional cranberry sauce. Everytime I make it I receive tons of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is fantastic. My sister in law who doesn't care a lot for cranberries always request this for Thanksgiving. It has a great mix of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I used a mix of cherries, cranberries, blueberries and golden raisins for the dried fruit, which was great. The blueberries added a nice bit of color. This was delicious, and even better the next day. I thought there was a bit too much cinnamon when I tried it before it had completely cooled, but by the next morning was perfectly spiced. I had it for breakfast! Update: Very adaptable to what you've got on hand. For my second batch, I was out of pears, so I used fresh pineapple and rather than peeling and processing an orange, I used mandarin oranges. Turned out great! I topped a bagel with cream cheese and this cranberry sauce, which made an incredibly good breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Simple and delicious! I followed the recipe exactly as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Everyone's favorite. It's super yummy in plain yogurt too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Good but on the orangey tangy tasting side. Will try with just water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Will never use a can of cranberry again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States