Cranberry Sauce Extraordinaire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was pretty good but not the best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This recipe is AWESOME! It reminds me of the one my late Grandmother used to make, which bought me fond memories with every bite. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I guess I like my cranberry sauce simple! Too many different flavors going on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
So exotic and yummy! And cut the sugar in half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I tried this for this year's Thanksgiving dinner, and it didn't really go over all that well. Hardly anyone tried it, I guess because it looked different from the usual cranberry sauce. I thought it tasted very good, though, and my husband liked it too. I couldn't find diced dried fruit, and so substituted golden raisins. I didn't add the nuts, as I didn't want it to be too much like a chutney. I don't think using the dried fruit would have made the looks much more appealing. But I was sorry that no one tried it, as it really tasted pretty good. Think I'll probably make just the regular cranberry sauce next time, but it was fun to try this different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I'm rating the "idea" of this recipe. I had to work with what I had which was - 1/2 a 12 oz bag of fresh crans, 1 can of whole cran sauce. I sm can of mandarin oranges & sm can of pears. I drained the mandarin juice into the fresh cranberries (with a splash of water) and added my peeled diced apple. Used fresh grated nutmeg & cinammon. After that cooked I pureed with a stick blender. I cut the mandarin oranges in half, diced up the drained canned pears and added that along with more cinnamon and a tsp of fresh ginger and ground coriander. Added the can of whole cranberries. Mixed all that up on the stovetop and let it simmer for 10 minutes. I think using the juice from mandarin oranges along with the canned pears & the apple; gave it plenty sweet. Oh...I added 1/4 C of golden raisins during initial cooking before pureed. No other dried fruit was used in my rendition. Anyway, was a great starting point that you can toy with. Love the spices in it! I found it tasted even better sitting it the fridge overnight. I gotta try this on some cream cheese with a bagel, that sounds really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made this much like the recipe, though omitting the pear. Plus, because I didn't have the mixed fruit, I used raisins and chopped apricots as a substitute. And, I diced the peeled orange instead of pureeing it. However, I thought it turned out nasty - much too mushy. I was hoping for a Cranberry Sauce I had made in the past that was chunky and very tasty. No one took any of mine, at a family Thanksgiving Dinner, so I brought it home, probably to eventually dump. Guess I'll keep looking for the one I really want. Thanks anyway. I'm sure many will enjoy this version of a holiday Cranberry Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was great. If you like cranberries then this dish is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
At first taste I wasn't convinced since this sauce doesn't have a strong cranberry flavor. However, it won rave reviews at Thanksgiving and the leftovers made the yummiest topping for French pancakes. I plan to keep this for future Thanksgivings. For dried fruit I used apricots, cherries and golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
So delicious! I woke up craving it the day after Thanksgiving, so i had it on my toast with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 453) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States