Cranberry Sauce Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I have used a similar recipe many times and it is absolutely fabulous. I know you might think the combo of ingredients is rather odd, but when they cook together, they taste wonderful! Here are some tips: You can use boneless skinless breasts and cook for about an hour. Thousand island dressing is what I have always used (as opposed to Russian dressing) and it is great. You can use jellied cranberry sauce or whole cranberry sauce and both work fine. Covering with tin foil for at least 1/2 the baking time is recommended as the sauce may burn a bit. Finally, make sure you make some rice with this to soak up the yummy sauce! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
I LOVE this recipe! It's soooooo quick and tastes great. The sauce is fantastic over homemade mashed potatoes so they're a must side for this meal. I use breasts so I only cook for 1 hour, and I put all the sauce in the pan. Covering the dish makes a big difference too, so don't skip the foil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
WE LOVED IT! If you use the slow cooker, you should skin the chicken and add two tbsp of cornstarch and extra pepper or poultry seasoning to the cold sauce and so I threw in about 12 skinnless, boneless thighs while still frozen and cooked in the crock for 8 hours. My husband is not the cranberry freak I am, but the cooked sauce tastes nothing like any of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This was a SUPERB recipe!!! It was sweet and tangy and tender AND very easy. I followed the directions but used whole berry cranberry sauce, and after dipping the chicken in the mixture I poured all the sauce on the dish and cooked as directed. I tried it with pork chops it was also great. I will be making it for company, and my family very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sangre Grande, Sangre Grande, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Hempstead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Easy, easy, easy! I only had four chicken thighs, so I didn't use a whole bottle of dressing, and I used jellied cranberry sauce. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written, with great result! The next time I would take the skin off of the chicken, and baste during baking to compensate for the loss of moisture. That way, there wouldn't be so much chicken fat in the fabulous sauce, and the chicken would marinate more in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Good flavor! I put frozen chicken thighs in the crock pot and spread the sauce over top. I set it on high for 5 hours. It turned out great! My husband loved the sauce over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAPATTEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
I really like this recipe. Tastes great! A warning -- the sauce tends to burn and bake onto the pan, so you might want to think twice before making this in your best ovenware.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
This is one of my absolute favorite dishes! The chicken is moist, the flavor is wonderful, and on top of that, it is really simple to make. I also used whole cranberries for the sauce - yum! This recipe is similar to Apricot Chicken that uses apricot preserves instead of cranberries. It is also very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
I am not a huge fan of Onion Soup mix but this sauce has so many flavors that it isn't overwhelming. My husband and kids really like this and it is so easy. Rice as a side for the sauce is a must! I use boneless, skinless chicken thighs and there is plenty of sauce for them. This is really easy and would be great for a dinner party where you wanted time to mingle with your guests and didn't want to be tied to the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: South Weber, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
This was yummy and easy to make. I suggest serving w/white or wild rice to utilize the wonderful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States