Cranberry Sauce Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
The chicken came out very tender and moist, but I just didn't like the sauce as much as I thought I would. The onion soup mix was just too overpowering. The chicken itself has a pretty good flavor, but had to scrape off the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I tried this recipe at the facility where I volunteer. I received an abundance of cranberry sauce and this recipe piqued my interest. Whereas I enjoyed the meal, it seems to be one of those meals where an acquired taste is needed. I had a few responses that were very favorable but the majority gave me funny looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Millard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was so good I changed the salad dressing to catalina becuse that was what I had on hand it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is the same recipe I have used for years. I call it "unbelievably delicious chicken" I found the recipe many years ago in a Maine newspaper cooking column. This is what I do Mix a bottle of catalina dressing with one envelope of dry onion soup mix and one can of whole berry cranberry sauce. This mix gets poured over boneless skinless chicken breasts in a pan, covered with foil and refirigerated overnight. The next night take it out uncover and cook for 45-60mins in a 350 degre oven. My family loves it and it makes so much gravy to put over white rice or mashed potatoes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This was wonderful. Really easy, and I boiled the chicken ahead of time, then mixed the sauce and put it in the oven until ready to serve. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar-n-spice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I substituted 1 cup of Catalina Style salad dressing for the Ranch style. We even used the sauce on our baked potatoes. I'd call it "Fantastic Chicken" when the catalina style dressing is used!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Very good!The chicken was tender and tasty.I only made 4 chicken breasts but kept the sauce for 12 servings and it was plenty.The only thing I changed is I spread garlic on the bottom of the dish and laid the chicken on top of the garlic.I also sprinkled the chicken with some sage before I poured the sauce on and also I kept it covered the whole cook time because some of the reviewers said the chicken was dry when they didn't...mine turned out great, and I'll be making this again.Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamidee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Very good meal for our family of 9 and all different ages. I was a little disconcerted by the sauce ingredients but it turned out nice. It is a good spring/summer crock pot recipe. We served it with wild rice and I liked how the flavors complemented each other. Tried frenched green beans with it but after tasting the sauce, will serve with carrots next time instead. Overall very good and liked by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I made this recipe using fat free French dressing and skipped the sugar. I mixed the sauce in the crockpot then added the chicken which I had cut up into tender size pieces. The chicken absorbed a lot of the flavor and the sauce was delicious on top of rice. Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
You don't have to use 12 chicken breasts for this recipe. I only used about 4 or 5, cooked them in an 8x8 casserole dish completely covered with the cranberry sauce for an all over marinade--perfect. The extra sauce is excellent over top of rice as well. Also, I used "My Grandmothers French Dressing" recipe from this site, so glad I did--mmmm. Lastly, use fresh chicken breasts, it'll turn out better, or at least it did out of the two times I've made this :) Thanks for sharing such an easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States