Cranberry Salad V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Just like the cranberry salad we have made for over 50 years with the exception being that we add one large apple and two small oranges to the mix. We chop everything up in the food processor (except the celery and walnuts) and we use lemon jello. With the addition of the pineapple we also cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup. We find it to still be sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gr8cape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavittsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This is an old family recipe we have loved for years. We always used lemon jello but I believe you could use any fruit flavor. Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners wouldn't be complete without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was a hit at our Thanksgiving dinner. I used black cherry jello, added cream cheese & sour cream topping, and garnished with the nuts and a sprinkle of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This is not bad, but I couldn't bring myself to add the celery or serve with mayo . . .definitely not our thing. I love cranberries and tartness, but this is a tad too much, so I think I'd try with a sweeter jello next time. Very easy to make, and tastes pretty good, but we'd have to modify it more next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This didn't jell for me and I'm not sure what went wrong. I followed the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERNJOY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was excellent for Thanksgiving dinner. I made it with a 20 oz can of crushed pineapple, undrained and 1/2 cold water added to the jello mix/sugar/hot water mixture. It came out a little more runny, not as set up, but my family said they liked it that way. Aslo used 1 chopped granny smith apple instead of celery for the same crunch but even more tartness/fruitiness. I thought it was perfectly sweet, you could probably have even knocked the sugar down to 1/4 to 1/3 cup and been okay. Overall, it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This turned out so well and was a hit at Thanksgiving! I did use cherry Jell-O instead of lemon and used only about 1/3 cup sugar. We loved it and can't wait to eat leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I made this with red jello 1 c cranberries and 1/3 cup sugar. My mom has always had this at Thanksgiving and it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is like what we make except we use black cherry jello, gives it a much better flavor. (you can also use cranberry jello, or reg cherry etc. but lemon dont sound very good to me?) Also we use the juice from the pineapple boiled to make the jello and use pineapple tidbits instead of crushed. i tried with crushed before and felt like it ruined it even with such a small change.. we also use canned whole berry cranberry sauce, the gel of the sauce really adds to the gel of the gelatin. We also top it with cream cheese/sour cream topping with vanilla and sugar in it, home made, It is AMAZING together! Great as a side or dessert! My family has always made this, & I always do. It wouldnt be thanksgiving without it. My kids love it as much as their father and I. Even people who dont care for cranberrys love it. I didnt like whole berry cranberry sauce till this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is almost exactly the same recipe my family has been making for Thanksgiving since I can remember! The only difference is that we use raspberry gelatin, which we mix with the hot water and juice from the crushed pineapple, and cool it to where it is just beginning to set, then mix it with everything else. This is one of my favorites! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States