Cranberry Salad IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This is a recipe that my grandmother has made for 40+ years. Here are some helpful hints to make it even better. Start in the morning of the day before you want to serve. Crush the cranberries and mix with 1 1/2 cups sugar (my grandmother uses 2!! which is a bit much so I use 1 1/2) Mix together and let it rest all day. Drain the juice out at the end of the day and put it back in the fridge. Day of: Drain again, add marshmallows, a big can of crushed pineapple, and 2 cups red seedless grapes, halved. Then right before you want to serve whip the cream and add 1 cup whipped cream to the salad!! This makes it aaaaaaa-mazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon McLane

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
My Women's Club made this to serve at a luncheon given for a Holiday House Tour. We made the following changes in the recipe to save a little work and expense, and found that the result did not suffer at all. We used 1 10 oz. bag mini marshmellows per recipe and 4 c. coolwhip instead of whipped cream. The recipe doubles, or triples well. We used a 1/2 c. scoop to serve and the salad kept its shape nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
I've never had raw cranberries and was skeptical but this recipe is very yummy tasting. Everyone really enjoyed it at Thanksgiving last year and it's been requested for this year as well. Very tart and sweet at the same time. I'll make this any day instead of boring jello salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Much to my dismay, I was asked to bring something *cranberry* to Thanksgiving dinner...visions of canned gelled cranberry and Jello molds danced through my head. I came here and searched and located this promising recipe, but I was still skeptical. However, it is wonderful! Easy to make and tastes great. A great way to add cranberries to the holiday meal. My mom has already requested this be an annual staple at our Thanksgiving table. THANKS! The only changes I made were to use fat free Cool Whip in place of the heavy cream and I added sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My mom made this all while we were growing up and I can't get enough of it. I HAVE to make it every TG and Christmas now. I never chilled all mine separately though. I blend the cranberries in a bleder with the sugar then mix everything and chill for an hour plus. We also always added chopped walnuts. I'm not a marshmallow fan so now that I make my own I leave those out and it is still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara Broderick-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I tweaked this a lot, but I adored what I came up with in the end. I used 2 cups of ground fresh cranberries, a large can of crushed pineapple, and a large strained jar of mini mandarin oranges. I let it soak in 1 1/2 cups sugar for several hours, straining the juice as necessary. I also used whole mini marshmallows, and flavored my whipping cream with a toss of powdered sugar and some vanilla extract. The result was the perfect combination of tart and sweet. I loved it, and it went over well at Christmas. Will definitely make this again, five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SomeGeekyGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I doubled recipe. Used my food processer for grinding the cranberries. Really easy and yummy. My kids call this sparkle salad. I will make again. Might be good with either chopped pecans or walnuts also. I bet would be really pretty, if you put in mold and froze & slice & serve. I'm gonna try that sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
We love this version of cranberry salad. My mothers family has made this for as long as I can remember--only with the substitution of halved green grapes and pecan pieces for the marshmallows and pineapple. Be careful no to puree the cranberries!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This recipe has been in my family for YEARS. I remember my grandmother making this when I was a kid for all the holiday dinners and It was alway's my favorite. Now I make it for my own family and it's still my favorite! The only thing I do different is use miniature marshmallows. It saves time and I don't have to mess with quartering large ones. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Very good, this will be included in my Holiday menu each season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States