Cranberry Salad IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This is fantastic. I used the mini marshmallows - much easier than cutting the large ones. I had pineapple tidbits, so I used that instead of crushed and it was great. Will definitely make again. I liked much better than the jello types of cranberry salad. Great to take to a big group - it fills a large bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I tweaked this a lot, but I adored what I came up with in the end. I used 2 cups of ground fresh cranberries, a large can of crushed pineapple, and a large strained jar of mini mandarin oranges. I let it soak in 1 1/2 cups sugar for several hours, straining the juice as necessary. I also used whole mini marshmallows, and flavored my whipping cream with a toss of powdered sugar and some vanilla extract. The result was the perfect combination of tart and sweet. I loved it, and it went over well at Christmas. Will definitely make this again, five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SomeGeekyGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This is a recipe that my grandmother has made for 40+ years. Here are some helpful hints to make it even better. Start in the morning of the day before you want to serve. Crush the cranberries and mix with 1 1/2 cups sugar (my grandmother uses 2!! which is a bit much so I use 1 1/2) Mix together and let it rest all day. Drain the juice out at the end of the day and put it back in the fridge. Day of: Drain again, add marshmallows, a big can of crushed pineapple, and 2 cups red seedless grapes, halved. Then right before you want to serve whip the cream and add 1 cup whipped cream to the salad!! This makes it aaaaaaa-mazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon McLane

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Much to my dismay, I was asked to bring something *cranberry* to Thanksgiving dinner...visions of canned gelled cranberry and Jello molds danced through my head. I came here and searched and located this promising recipe, but I was still skeptical. However, it is wonderful! Easy to make and tastes great. A great way to add cranberries to the holiday meal. My mom has already requested this be an annual staple at our Thanksgiving table. THANKS! The only changes I made were to use fat free Cool Whip in place of the heavy cream and I added sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Easy to make and great to take to a pot luck!! I added a cup of chopped pecans for a change and LOVED IT!! People complimented on the flavor, texture of the salad and presentation to the Thanksgiving buffet!!! This will be a traditional salad that I will take again to a potluck!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I used this recipe for years with the mini marshmellows, but I also add 1 c. chopped pecans. I've had people that do not like cranberries at all eat this (before they knew what it was) and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Delicious. Even if you don't let the flavors blend together, this salad is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This recipe received rave reviews at Thanksgiving and I was asked to make it again for two Christmas dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I first made this 5 years ago and it has been requested every year by my extended family at holidays. Delicious!! Wonderful alternative to jello salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
We love this version of cranberry salad. My mothers family has made this for as long as I can remember--only with the substitution of halved green grapes and pecan pieces for the marshmallows and pineapple. Be careful no to puree the cranberries!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States