Cranberry Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This recipe was so good! The only thing I changed was to use a box of cherry jello and a box of raspberry instead of two cherries. This was completely finished off at our Thanksgiving meal. And that's saying something considering there was a TON of food with lots of choices. I'll definitely be making this again all year round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Be smart about this recipe, especially around the holidays. Make with sugar-free jello, Miracle Whip, and Low fat or fat free cream cheese. If you make it the way the recipe says, its nearly 400 calories a serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy on a Mission

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I made this recipe for this past Thanksgiving, but I forgot to review it. I doubled the recipe but instead of using two packages of cherry jello, I used one cherry and one cranberry. Otherwise, I made it exactly according to the recipe. It was the hit of the Thanksgiving dinner. I didn't even think I liked whole cranberry sauce, but I've changed my mind after this recipe. My family has had gelatin salads at every holiday meal my entire life, and we all think this is the best one. My daughter asked me to make it for every holiday meal from now on. Since she loved it so much I'm going to make it for her birthday this week. I'll try making it lighter, using low-fat, sugar-free ingredients where possible. I'll let you know how it turns out. UPDATE: We loved it just as much this time around. In fact, my daughter has nicknamed it "edible paradise" and says she is addicted. Again I used one package of cherry gelatin and one package of cranberry gelatin. I also used fat-free cream cheese and sugar-free gelatin, and we couldn't really tell any difference in the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I made this for a Christmas party and it was a hit. I left out the pecans for any people who may have a nut allergy. Very tasty and very easy to make. Will be on the list of things to make for next year. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Essex, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
We absolutely loved this salad. I will be making it again for Thanksgiving. I did pour just a little more pineapple juice into the cream cheese mixture, but not much. The cream cheese layer is alot easier to spread if it's at room temp, or even warmed up a bit in the microwave. This fit perfectly in an 7 x 11" glass pan. Would need to double recipe if you want it in a 9 x 13". It's so good, I'm sure it would get eaten if you doubled it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I love this recipe! I leave out the mayonnaise though and I don't think it makes a huge difference. I also only make two layers, and I put the chopped walnuts in to the Jello. I also add about 1/2 cup of powdered sugar to the cream cheese and pineapple juice. It comes out so nice and creamy. This disappears every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I have made this the past two years for Christmas and Thanksgiving. No changes need to be made to the existing recipe. It's wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PERKY2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
We made this last year for Thanksgiving and it was a great hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Yummy is all I can say to this. I made it for Thanksgiving dinner for my friends and family and it was a hit. I didn't have any pecans, but the result was still delicious. I was even asked for the recipe. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This recipe has gotten very good reviews, but I'm not sure why. I had high expectations after reading the reviews, but when I made it I discovered that it is little more than glorified Jell-O. If you like Jell-O you will like this salad, but if you want something a little more exciting than Jell-O - pick a different recipe! I made this for a dinner party and it was the only item that I did not get compliments on and my husband and I were eating the leftovers for a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States