Cranberry Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This salad rocks!!! Because my fiance doesn't like fruit, I haven't had an opportunity to make this until now. :-( I bought a bag of fresh cranberries a couple of weeks ago, intending to make my "ever-famous" homemade relish for Turkey Day. At 11 PM on Wednesday night (ikes!), I didn't have the energy to stand over a hot stove to watch cranberries "pop," but was still craving something cranberry-ish, so I decided to give this a try. I made a few modifications, basically because of what I had on hand and to accommodate my diabetic friend and mother-in-law "to be." I halved (most) everything, using only 1 (12 oz.) bag of cranberries, 1/2 c. sugar substitute, a entire 20 oz. can of UNSWEETENED crushed pineapple, 1/4 c. chopped walnuts, an 8 oz. tub of light Cool-whip and 2 c. marshmallows (which is equivalent to 7 oz. worth). I also added a chopped (unpeeled) Granny Smith apple for a little crunch. In order for this to turn out with excellent results, I do have a few tips. First, FREEZE, then THAW your cranberries. They will be plumper, juicier and the brightest, most beautiful popping red color! Also, if you decide to add an apple as I did, dip the cut pieces into your pineapple juice (rather than waste it). The acidity of the juice will prevent them from browning (exactly as lemon juice would). Thanks for sharing, Micki! This was a hit with everyone and will most definitely be a repeat in my kitchen. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This is great frozen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I loved this recipie, only I cooked the cranberries before adding them to the salad, made it a little sweeter and easier for my kids to eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I make this every Thanksgiving and just love it. Great recipe and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly and it was fabulous! Everyone LOVED it and ate it all up. It was so delicious. I actually froze mine and let it thaw while sitting out and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wildwood, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I don't know if this is the exact recipe that I got from my great aunt Jenny, can't find that one, but it sounds pretty darn close. It is my all time favorite holiday dish. My mom being a real traditionalist wouldn't make it for a summer picnic when I was young until I begged. It took her a while to forgive me for that but it was well worth it.....everybody said so!! We are making it again this Thanksgiving after a long repreive and it is sure to be a hit with the new family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOKISUN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
WOW! this cranberry salad has been a staple at Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners in my family since way before I was born. It was my Grammas specialty. I was under the impression that it was her creation. Im floored but glad to see the recipe on here cause it has never been written down, and she is no longer with us so I cant call her when I need help..THANK YOU for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This salad is wonderfull!!!! Everyone wanted the recipe. I used cool whip instead of whipping cream. Thanks for such a easy and good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Really yummy. The recipe made enough for an army! I will half the recipe next time. It will definitely become part of our tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
My family really enjoys this salad. I always half it, because it makes a ton. I like to add 1 chopped apple to the halved recipe. It freezes really well - my dad likes to eat it right out of the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States