Cranberry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I've been making this cranberry salad for years. I run the cranberries and the sugar through my food processor for a coarse chop and let it sit for a few hours. I then combine it with the rest of the ingredients. Only things I do different is use chopped and peeled Granny Smith apples and use sour cream mixed with vanilla instead of yogurt. This is good with the French Vanilla Cool Whip, if you can find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maryscookin
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This is a pretty salad to add to the Christmas dinner table. I made it exactly as written and I wouldn't change a thing. My cranberries were from the freezer and I chopped them with my Pampered Chef food chopper while they were still frozen--worked really well! We ate up the leftover salad today; still good, but is best on the day it is made. You can mix up the cranberries and sugar and refrigerate overnight, if desired, then add remaining ingredients just before serving. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This dish was easy to make, pretty, and people enjoyed it. I wouldn't change a thing. My sister commented that it "tastes exactly how I would expect it to taste", if that makes any sense. :) I had never made anything with fresh cranberries before, and I was hoping it wouldn't taste too bitter or sour, so I was pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
My aunt used to make a salad that tasted similiar to this one, but it was placed in a mold and as a kid I always found it strange and off putting. But I found when just having all the ingredients mixed together, it was truly wonderful when added to the Thanksgiving dinner menu. I did omit the pecans because of a nut allergy at our table, but I'm sure they would have added a lovely crunch to the salad. I also used Braeburn apples and vanilla Greek yogurt as those items were ones I had on hand and the recipe did not state type. Also increased the marshmallows by a 1/2 cup. Thank you Doris for posting this recipe; it went over extremely well for a non-cranberry sauce eating crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
My family enjoyed this dish. Next time I might dunk the cranberries in boiling water for a few seconds to get them a little tender. I skimped on the sugar the first time but next time I think it will help balance the tartness of the cranberries. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Awesome! Had a bag of cranberries left over and was looking for something to make with it. Ironically I had all ingredients on hand, so I tried it. Family loved it, I only had granny smiths on hand and was worried about how tart this maybe so I did add 1 tablespoon of honey before adding the yogurt&whipped cream mixture. Kids ate it up and asked for seconds. Very delicious and healthy dessert quite refreshing change. Am thinking I it's red color would make this very suitable with a Valentines Day dinner as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Loved it! I made it as a side dish for Christmas dinner and it was as beautiful as it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I tried this the first time on my family at Christmas. They all loved it. It was sweet and tangy, a nice change from the heavy, creamy food at Christmas time. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Very delicious & pretty! I served this on Xmas. I used my Vidalia Chop Wizard to cut the cranberries & apples. Used walnuts instead of pecans (what I had on hand), fat free yogurt & fat free Cool Whip. This was a little sweet for my liking, I'll try cutting down the sugar next time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Thought this recipe was perfect. Added the pecans just before serving. Not a huge fan of pecans although it tasted just fine. Wonder how almonds would be...try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States