Cranberry Relish II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I love this recipe. I just use a bag of cranberries (12 oz), one orange, one granny smith apple, and anywhere from 1-2 cups of sugar. I like it sweet cause I don't put it directly on my turkey. Everyone always asks me to make this relish over regular cranberry sauce, year after year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I am not a fan of uncooked relishes, so I modified this recipe a little. I boiled 1.5 cups of water with sugar to dissolve it, then added the rest of the ingredient. I let it simmer until the apples are soft and then cooled and stored it in the fridge. Very good on turkey and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This is a Thanksgiving must! I use half the sugar and it's fine for us, especially if the apples are very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Excellent! I used half the sugar and put the oranges in the processor after cutting them, but not peeling them. Didn't notice a difference and this made it very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is just like the recipe my aunt used to make. Thank you for posting. Although it freezes well, this makes a lot of relish. I made half a recipe, which was enough for a large Thanksgiving dinner and (kept in the freezer) a small Christmas meal. I also used only half of the recommended sugar. I prefer relish on the tart side rather than sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Being a diabetic I used sucralose in place of sugar for this recipe. No one knew the difference. It's great with ham or turkey plus it makes a wonderful dessert for me mixed with cottage cheese or sugar free gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is "THE" family tradition in our home for Thanksgiving. As a child we took turns grinding the cranberries, apples and oranges but the recipe was doubled and we made it a couple days before Thanksgiving. The longer it sets the better it is. Now I still make it with the old hand grinder but with my granddaughter. I want her to keep it in the family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I tried this recipe on Thanksgiving and it was a complete success... I made it again on Christmas and it's now part of my list of favorites. It's like dessert... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I was a little disappointed in this recipe. Normally I love cranberry relish, but I felt like this was missing something. It was also a little too runny for my liking. I might add it again but put some of my own finishes on it (chopped celery is always nice, as is a handful of toasted walnuts or toasted pecans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I love this relish. For the "day afters" I made Turkey Taquitos and used by cranberry leftovers and added Salsa to it for a Cranberry Salsa that was to die for! It was a first experiment that we'll keep using!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cranberry Relish

This no-cook sauce is like a delicious seasonal fruit salad.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States