Cranberry Relish II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I love this recipe. I just use a bag of cranberries (12 oz), one orange, one granny smith apple, and anywhere from 1-2 cups of sugar. I like it sweet cause I don't put it directly on my turkey. Everyone always asks me to make this relish over regular cranberry sauce, year after year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I am not a fan of uncooked relishes, so I modified this recipe a little. I boiled 1.5 cups of water with sugar to dissolve it, then added the rest of the ingredient. I let it simmer until the apples are soft and then cooled and stored it in the fridge. Very good on turkey and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This is a Thanksgiving must! I use half the sugar and it's fine for us, especially if the apples are very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Excellent! I used half the sugar and put the oranges in the processor after cutting them, but not peeling them. Didn't notice a difference and this made it very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is just like the recipe my aunt used to make. Thank you for posting. Although it freezes well, this makes a lot of relish. I made half a recipe, which was enough for a large Thanksgiving dinner and (kept in the freezer) a small Christmas meal. I also used only half of the recommended sugar. I prefer relish on the tart side rather than sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Being a diabetic I used sucralose in place of sugar for this recipe. No one knew the difference. It's great with ham or turkey plus it makes a wonderful dessert for me mixed with cottage cheese or sugar free gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is "THE" family tradition in our home for Thanksgiving. As a child we took turns grinding the cranberries, apples and oranges but the recipe was doubled and we made it a couple days before Thanksgiving. The longer it sets the better it is. Now I still make it with the old hand grinder but with my granddaughter. I want her to keep it in the family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I tried this recipe on Thanksgiving and it was a complete success... I made it again on Christmas and it's now part of my list of favorites. It's like dessert... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I was a little disappointed in this recipe. Normally I love cranberry relish, but I felt like this was missing something. It was also a little too runny for my liking. I might add it again but put some of my own finishes on it (chopped celery is always nice, as is a handful of toasted walnuts or toasted pecans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I love this relish. For the "day afters" I made Turkey Taquitos and used by cranberry leftovers and added Salsa to it for a Cranberry Salsa that was to die for! It was a first experiment that we'll keep using!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Cranberry Relish

This no-cook sauce is like a delicious seasonal fruit salad.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States