Cranberry Raspberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This was really tasty and easy to make. I did substitute a few things. I used about 3/4 cup of frozen and thawed raspberries and 1/4 strawberries and 1/4 cup of black raspberries. Instead of the wine I used white grape raspberry juice and reduced that to about 2/3-3/4 cup due to the additional liquid from the thawed, previously frozen berries. Let it come to a boil and reduced to a simmer and cooked about 12 minutes. I just gauged it by consistency and letting the cranberries burst. Thickens even more in it's own when chilled. Tasted awesome warm or chilled! Perfect blend of sweet and tartness. Definitely will make again and experiment with other berry options!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was the first time I made cranberry sauce from scratch instead of opening a can. I used the suggestion of apple juice, but used a little less than a cup. I ended up with just a little more than 2 cups of fresh raspberries so I used a little less sugar. I added orange and lime zest. It came out perfect and the right consistency (not too thick and not too watery). I made this 2 days ahead and unfortunately due to a storm knocking out power we didn't have it on Thanksgiving. It got a little more tart over that time so I may not cut back on the sugar next time. Tastes great on cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Oh my gosh, this is awesome! I'm not a cranberry sauce fan, but I always feel I should serve it at Thanksgiving because it's traditional. This is the first recipe that has actually wowed me! I did add a dash of cinnamon and 1/4 t. of orange extract. I wanted the orange flavor, but I didn't want to dilute the merlot flavor. (If you don't have orange extract, you could probably use orange zest.) The merlot is what really makes this sauce a standout! (BTW, I think this is the first five-star rating I've given on this site!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Unlike many cranberry sauces, you really taste the fruit, not just sugar. The two fruits partner well, and the reduced sugar is a definite plus. Used a potato masher to lightly crush the fruit. Liked this a lot, and this will be my Thanksgiving cranberry sauce this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Used Apple juice instead of wine and ended up using a full cup of sugar. The raspberries make this WOW! I would like to try this drizzled over a slice of cheese cake ;-). Gonna make this for Thanksgiving every year from now on. Hope there's enough left over to use with a pork roast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Very tasty. Very easy to make. Took about 20 - 25 minutes in all. The sauce has a nice sweet / tart flavor. I used 1/2 cup Beaujolais Nouveau wine & 1/2 cup water. Can still taste the wine, but it is not overpowering. I also used 1/2 white and 1/2 dark brown sugars. Goes well with turkey (obviously) but also good with chicken or pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I never cared for cranberry sauce but I made this for Christmas dinner and everybody including me loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Oh, my, this is wonderful! Like others, I made with apple juice rather than wine, although I'd like to try again with wine for comparison. It's nothing like a traditional cranberry sauce ... it's sweet, but with the tart bite from the cranberries, too. Suspect it would be wonderful over ice cream or spongecake ... or both! Anxious to taste it on the turkey on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Really good with the raspberries. I used hard cider instead of Merlot however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
LOVE this recipe. Have been using it for a few years and it is always a hit. I use only 3/4 merlot, and 1/4 cup OJ. Also add in a little orange zest. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States