Cranberry Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Loving the idea of a cranberry swirl in my muffins, I used the simple syrup idea, putting about 1/4 C sugar (I used this amount from the sugar called for in the recipe) in a small saucepan with the cranberries and a small amount of water. I let it heat up until I had been hearing the berries burst open for about a minute and set it aside until ready to fold them into the batter. I didn't have any oranges, but did have some clementines, so I zested two of them. It seems to have worked just as well as orange zest would have. The hint of citrus flavor was a wonderful surprise to my taste buds. Another touch I added was a pinch of sugar on the tops of each muffin (some before I baked them, some after baking and still hot, for variety). The muffins were delicious, and using a large Pampered Chef scoop to portion the dough, I got 23 muffins. I would have had enough for 24, scraping the sides, but there wouldn't have been any cranberry in it, so I decided to "taste" that batter once I'd put the muffins into the oven. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
These are awesome! I replaced 1/2 cup of white flour with 1/2 cup of wheat flour because I used an entire 15 oz can of pumpkin instead of 8 oz. Also, I only used 1/4 cup of olive oil. Also added 3/4 cup of chopped walnuts with the cranberries, that I just burst quickly in the food processor instead of cutting in half. I love the tart taste of the cranberry mingled with the sweetnest of the muffin...different and great combination! This will be a great hit at the Thanksgiving table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamelita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Made these today to use up the left over cranberries and can of pumpkin I had. They are GREAT! My daughter and I made them and she wanted to taste the 1st one. She loved them! 2 Thumbs up for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DadTaughtMeWell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made these muffins with a few alterations. I used melted butter rather than oil, and used less than 1/2 c. so that I could use more pumpkin. I only used one egg (I was short) and reserved a Tbsp of sugar for the cranberries. Instead of cutting each cranberry, I cooked them with the reserved sugar and a Tbsp of water until they burst, then folded them into the batter. The added syrup (from the juices, sugar and water) sufficiently loosened up the batter to muffin consistency. They were pretty delicious if I do say so myself. As an added bonus, the cranberries folded into the pumpkin batter have a really nice Autumn swirl effect. I'll make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I made the recipe exactly as it was written and it was super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Awesome recipe! Interesting mix of flavors- I made it a bit healthier by subbing the oil with applesauce and a I used a full can of pumpkin. It was VERY moist! Also, as someone else suggested I let the fresh cranberries "pop" in a simple syrup on the stovetop (1/2 c water, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 1/2 c fresh cranberries. Made lovely swirls when folded in! I also cut the sugar to 1 1/2 since I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar in the cranberries. Kids LOVED these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Easy and tastes great! We served them spread with Nutella. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I cut the amount of oil back and added in additional pumpkin puree. I also didn't want to mess around with cutting a bunch of cranberries in half, I just threw them in the food processor and pulsed them a few times for a rough chop. Right before baking, I sprinkled each muffin mound with a little sugar. Baked at 350*, these were done at a little over 20 minutes. We all thought this muffin was fantastic, especially me. I really loved the combination of the pumpkin, cranberry with the hint of orange. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annoula_K
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
These muffins have great flavors...you can taste the pumpkin, orange, and cranberries in each bite. I didn't have fresh cranberries, so I used chopped dried cranberries and it came out great (~1/2 cup dried cranberries for the full batch should be enough). Also, I cut the recipe in half, but it only made 10 muffins; next time I'll make the full batch, and perhaps also add chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Used applesauce instead of oil. They came out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States