Cranberry Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Absolutely perfect recipe! No changes necessarynl, but if you do not have butter, you can also use 1/2 cup of vegetable oil or even olive oil can be used as a replacement, and it's a little more heart healthy. With all the spices, you will never taste the olive oil at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This recipe is perfectly moist without the greasy top that seems to always result from use of oil in a recipe. I will be making this often! My kids (7, 5, and 2 years old) gobbled these up without hesitation. The only change I made was using an overflowing cup of fresh cranberries instead of craisins, and I used pumpkin puree from a fresh pie pumpkin instead of buying canned. Absolutely delectable! I agree with the review to bake at 350 vs 400 and after 22 minutes mine were perfect (in my brand new LG oven). I put a small amount of batter in mini muffin cups to test out the addition of mini chocolate chips, and in 12-13 minutes they were perfect (and also very yummy!). I am having a hard time not eating the entire batch in the first day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Just made these today. I adjusted the baking temp to 350 as someone else suggested (since my oven runs hot) and they turned out great as far as moistness and consistency. I had fresh cranberries, so I used those because I love their tartness. I also used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup coconut oil in place of the 1/2 cup butter. I thought these needed a tad more sweetness and flavor. They are almost bland. If you want a really light and barely sweet muffin, make these as is. I think next time I will add a little more of the spices and sugar to make them more flavorful. Or maybe a sprinkle of regular granulated sugar on top before baking. This a good base recipe that you can tweak according to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Yummy muffins! Could be a little sweeter but I am a sweet tooth! Overall very good. There is one error in the directions. They do not tell you to add the brown sugar to the pumpkin, butter and milk etc mixture, but any experienced baker knows when to put it in! Mary W.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gwinn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cornell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Just made these muffins - a great thing to do on a rainy day! I used Pumpkin Pie Spice (1-1/2 tsp.) instead of the spices listed, and also used dried cherries instead of cranberries. I think adding pecans or walnuts would be awesome. They are moist and especially good warm. I am not a huge pumpkin fan, but these are good, not overpowering with pumpkin flavor like a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJ's Grandma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
These were so good! I decreased the butter and sugar to make a healthier breakfast option, and they still turned out delicious. I also tried a batch with chocolate chips as a dessert option. Also very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I just made these and they are excellent and exactly what I wanted. I did soften the cranberries in hot water but drained them well. I also used 2 cups of the cranberries (cranraisins) due to me liking a lot of them. I would make these again and again. They were perfect. I might put in pecans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Followed with recipe with the exception of substituting pumpkin pie spice for the 4 spices. Also added chocolate chips as others suggested. Came out okay but taste was nothing special, seemed kind of bland, maybe increase spice next time?? I would also skip the chocolate chips and add nuts instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GULFTRADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made these today with the following modifications: I used roasted butternut squash puree instead of the pumpkin puree, I added about 1/4 cup white chocolate chips, about a cup of chopped candied walnuts, soaked the cranberries in hot water, added a couple more teaspoons of buttermilk, used 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice instead of all the individual spices, and sprinkled the tops with raw sugar before baking. I also used smaller baking cups that I had gotten at Ikea and this yielded 18 muffins vs the 12 the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
In my mind, this is a perfect pumpkin muffin – perfectly domed, perfectly risen, perfectly sweet and moist and perfectly spiced. The batter was a little on the thick side but I just thinned it out with a little extra buttermilk; I’d say 1-2 T. ought to do it. I used dried cherries rather than the cranberries (a little sweeter and not as tart) and topped the muffins with some turbinado sugar (aka raw sugar or demerera sugar) before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States