Cranberry Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I made this incredibly aromatic and delicious bread with the few changes noted in other reviews: applesauce instead of oil, 1/2c more brown sugar, and 1tsp of each cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg. This is going to become a family favorite and fall tradition in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Woolf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I was intrigued by the whole cranberry sauce, but not the best pumpkin bread we've had. I added two tsp. pumpkin pie spice instead of just cinnamon and cloves. Still a bit bland. Good pumpkin/fruit balance with the cranberries and applesauce (instead of 1/3 oil). Good for a low-fat bread, but wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Fabulous!!! I also added an extra 1/2 cup of brown sugar and used 2 large eggs instead of the egg substitute. I baked in a 9x13 pan - so I could cut into bars and freeze for lunchbox goodies!!....but would have been fab as a sort of sheet cake with a cream cheese icing - will try that next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This is now a family favorite, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I added a bit of fresh nutmeg and used 2 eggs instead of the egg substitute. It was moist, wonderful, flavorful and not as heavy and oily as most pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DesertBorn54

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
So Delicious! this was great bread. for anyone who doesnt use egg subsitute, use three eggs and 1/3 cup butermilk and it will taste great. i also used cranberry sauce will whole cranberrys in it and even added a little bit of dried cranberries (cranberry lover) i definitely recommend this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This was very moist and delicious. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KKPARSONS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I used part white/WW flour, added a 1/2 cup of white sugar, and used 1/2 cup of oil instead of 1/3 cup, then used Juliana's suggestion of 2 eggs. I had some leftover Pear Honey Cranberry Sauce from this site, so I used that instead of the canned variety. It may not have ended up as low fat as intended, but it was delicious. Nice texture, moist, and not too sweet, even with my addition of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I just made this, and it is fantastic! I used whole wheat flour, added some nutmeg, didn't have oranges so used lemon zest instead, and threw in a handful of dried cranberries since I had some in the pantry. I didn't have any nuts, so I omitted those, but I think this would also be great with the nuts mixed in. I'll defitely be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I substituted the applesauce for the oil and used dried cranberries instead of canned cranberry sauce because I had them. I wouldn't suggest doing the latter. I think it cut a little down on the sweetness. Overall it's a tasty bread; I think it'd be even better if I'd used the sauce. Also, the walnuts don't stay on the top very well when you try and cut the bread, so I'd suggest either punshing them down before baking or simply mixing them in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Highland Village, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States