Cranberry Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
My kids aren't fans of spicy things, so I left out the jalapeno and just added a few sprinkles of curry powder. They turned out great! I did try baking a few, as another reviewer suggested, to see if we liked the healthier version. They tasted OK, but the filling flattened out leaving a large air pocket in the wonton skin. Several wontons also leaked filling all over the cookie sheet. Healthy or not, the fried wontons looked much better, so if you're concerned with presentation I'd definitely fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This recipe deserves 5 stars because it is so fun to make and it's delicious. I put in a whole jalapeno in and it was generally felt to be a little on the spicy side but I really enjoyed it. The folding of the wanton wrapers was my favorite part. My roommate and I looked up a video on different shapes to fold the wantons and then we made various creations. We also brushed the wrappers with water to make sure that they stuck and stayed together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
These were a huge hit! I made them a for a party and have been asked by several friends to do them again. The contract of tart, spicy, and sweet is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This receipe was WONDERFUL. I made this for a holiday gathering last year and I couldn't make them fast enough. Even the people who don;t like spicey food loved them. I prepared them ahead of time then fried them as I served them. They are best when served immediately after frying. I will be making these again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Banhel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I wish I could give this 6 stars! It was a HUGE hit at my annual "fall" coctail party. Also, I made the wonton part first and froze them on a cookie sheet. I made the "relish" part in the morning. I was able to simply fry them up at the party. So So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I made these for New Years Eve with my food processor I got for Christmas. I loved them - I seeded the jalepeno so they weren't too spicy I think next time I'd like them spicier. My mom didn't think they'd be very good and she liked them, and my dad and brother LOVED them (I didn't think they would). I said I'd make them next Christmas and he said "No! Don't wait that long!" I'm not a fan of frying things though, so I think next time I'll use a fry daddy or something like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KWANNON
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I don't like spicy foods too much so I only added 1/2 a jalapeno. It turned out great and everyone loved them - a nice change from the crab rangoon that we usually have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KWANNON

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This is a great recipe. I made it for Thanksgiving, and we loved it. The flavor combination is so interesting. Next time I make this I will add more cranberries, and might bake them in puff pastry instead so they don't have to be served immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Fantastic! I deseeded the jalapeno to avod making them too spicy for my guests but I'm not sure it needed it. After they were all done, I sifted some powdered sugar on top to add a little visual appeal & an extra touch of sweetness. And I used nuefatchel cheese. These were my favories of all the appetizers I served for Thanksgiving...I think I will repeat them for my family's Christmas get-together. Thansk Raelee's recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving, and it was not well received. I followed the instructions, and it just turned out blah. I was looking forward to this because I like wontons & spicy food. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salsa

Salsa! An inventive way to use seasonal cranberries.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Sangria

A spiced Cranberry Sangria is perfect for any fall or winter holiday celebration.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States