Cranberry Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Excellent tasting and fairly easy. I only used half the recipe on Christmas. The next night, I added another half jalapeno to the mixes...a bit more spice. 2007 update - I made these again, but instead of frying them in oil, I baked them for @ 15 minutes at 375. Turned them over and baked for 5 more minutes. Still very yummy, but a bit better for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Wow, these were good! Even my picky 10-year-old loved them! I made just a couple of minor changes. I added an overflowing tablespoon of canned cranberry sauce to the mix for a better body and color. I also baked these at 375 for about 15 minutes in my convection oven, spraying the tops with olive oil spray. I never fry wontons - too much fat. They were very crispy and good! Thanks for a great way to use up both cranberries and jalapenos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I'm the one who created this recipe, but I've made it a few times since I submitted it here and I would like to note that I've added a little red curry paste (about 2tbsp to the cranberry relish) to it as well and they turned out wonderfully! But don't try this if you don't like your food spicy. I really hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raelee's recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This is a great recipe. I made it for Thanksgiving, and we loved it. The flavor combination is so interesting. Next time I make this I will add more cranberries, and might bake them in puff pastry instead so they don't have to be served immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I wish I could give this 6 stars! It was a HUGE hit at my annual "fall" coctail party. Also, I made the wonton part first and froze them on a cookie sheet. I made the "relish" part in the morning. I was able to simply fry them up at the party. So So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
My kids aren't fans of spicy things, so I left out the jalapeno and just added a few sprinkles of curry powder. They turned out great! I did try baking a few, as another reviewer suggested, to see if we liked the healthier version. They tasted OK, but the filling flattened out leaving a large air pocket in the wonton skin. Several wontons also leaked filling all over the cookie sheet. Healthy or not, the fried wontons looked much better, so if you're concerned with presentation I'd definitely fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving, and it was not well received. I followed the instructions, and it just turned out blah. I was looking forward to this because I like wontons & spicy food. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I love this little recipe because it gave me the idea to use a raspberry chipotle sauce (bottled from Costco) instead of cranberries to make this. The combination of sweet and spicy is just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Please do NOT try to bake these, you will be utterly disappointed! I did that and the wonton wrapper turned out chewy and just unedible. I guess I did save calories because I just threw them all away. I loved the filling, would even serve it as a dip or relish. Was fairly easy to assemble once you get into a rhythm. I will possibly attempt again & will fry them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Made these for a holiday party adn it went over pretty well. I doubled the amount of cranberries in the recipe. Most people there were not spicy food fans and the whole jalepeno may have been too much for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salsa

Salsa! An inventive way to use seasonal cranberries.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Sangria

A spiced Cranberry Sangria is perfect for any fall or winter holiday celebration.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States