Cranberry Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I followed this recipe without any deviations, cooking it in a Dutch oven. I was disappointed because the roast didn't seem to take on any of the flavor of the cranberry sauce and I found the end product to be bland. Overall, I was very disappointed and I won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly as written. I had high hopes that our family would like this because we love cranberry sauce. But, I am sad to say it wasn't the best. The roast turned out very well, but we just didn't care for the flavor of the sauce... Sorry! It was worth a try though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I made this last night using the original list of ingredients; since the recipe does not specify, I used whole berry sauce. Though I switched the cook time and temperature to 8 hours on low, I changed nothing else. The meat cooked perfectly, but both I and my husband (who doesn't care for "unusually flavored" meats) thought the beef was terribly bland, with way too little cranberry flavor. The sauce was very, very thin, more a tasty broth than a sauce. We tried pouring it over rice, and it just fell straight through to the plate, though the whole cranberries did add a nice sweetness. In retrospect, I don't know why the flouring step is included. It does absolutely nothing to thicken the sauce, and I think browning without the flour would work just as well if not better, and with less mess. I will probably try this recipe again, but next time I will not add water and will probably add another can of cranberry sauce, perhaps regular instead of whole berry or a mixture. I will also deglaze the pan with red wine and the onions next time, as at least one other reviewer suggested. Definitely not a bad recipe, but it didn't meet our expectations as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
meat was tough, sauce was good though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I only use 1 cup of beef broth and omit the water. The beef will make more broth. I also use whole cranberry jelly, add garlic and a tablespoon of Italian seasoning. I do just throw everything in the slowcooker, it will blend itself. Super happy I found this recipe, have made it a few times for family and now they request it. Great for thanksgiving cravings! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
My Husband REALLY loved it. I took out one cup on liquid and used a second can of cranberry and 1/2 dried cranberry's. Also added 1/4 tsp. of cayenne pepper for a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Easy and delicious. I found the cranberry flavor to be just right -- not overpowering, but definitely there. It added a really interesting sweet, complex flavor. I added large chunks of sweet potatoes and carrots to the slow cooker, as well as a tot of dark spiced rum, and substituted a gluten free flour mix for browning the roast (for my celiac spouse). I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
For a twist on your boring, old slow cooker Pot Roast recipe, this is FABULOUS! I took the cue from 'i luv 2 cook' and deviated a bit from there. Boiled 2 cups beef broth, 1 can cranberry sauce and 1/2 cup Merlot while browning roast on both sides, forgot flour. Mixed sliced onions, carrots & red potatoes on bottom of crock pot about 2" high, sprinkled with Beau Monde Seasoning & Italian herbs. Placed roast on top of veges, filled sides of roast with more veges, even to top of roast. Poured cranberry/broth mixture slowly over roast & sprinkled with pkg of Lipton Onion Soup mix. Cookled on low, 6-7 hours & wala, everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Wonderful! I made this yesterday (halved the recipe) and I just love it. The broth/sauce is wonderful over a vegetable like steamed green beans. I used the cranberry sauce with whole cranberries included and I'm glad. I expect to make this again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This was the best pot roast that I've ever made! My hubby and kids couldn't get enough! I reduced liquid to 2 cups of organic beef broth, I first added broth to crockpot along with 2 big handfuls of dried cranberries (I didn't have cranberry sauce so I used dried cranberries they plumper up and dissolved and their flavor was amazing!) I seasoned roast with salt and pepper and sprinkled with rice flour, browned the roast and set in crackpot. In the same pan I sautéed large diced onion and then deglazed the pan with 1/2 cup of port wine. After scraping up all of the flavor bits from the bottom I poured the port onion mixture into the crackpot. About an hour before it was done I added 3 sweet potatoes diced pretty small and 2 portabella mushrooms sliced into 1/4 inch slices. This is definately a new favorite in our dinner rotation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States