Cranberry Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
My Husband REALLY loved it. I took out one cup on liquid and used a second can of cranberry and 1/2 dried cranberry's. Also added 1/4 tsp. of cayenne pepper for a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Easy and delicious. I found the cranberry flavor to be just right -- not overpowering, but definitely there. It added a really interesting sweet, complex flavor. I added large chunks of sweet potatoes and carrots to the slow cooker, as well as a tot of dark spiced rum, and substituted a gluten free flour mix for browning the roast (for my celiac spouse). I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
For a twist on your boring, old slow cooker Pot Roast recipe, this is FABULOUS! I took the cue from 'i luv 2 cook' and deviated a bit from there. Boiled 2 cups beef broth, 1 can cranberry sauce and 1/2 cup Merlot while browning roast on both sides, forgot flour. Mixed sliced onions, carrots & red potatoes on bottom of crock pot about 2" high, sprinkled with Beau Monde Seasoning & Italian herbs. Placed roast on top of veges, filled sides of roast with more veges, even to top of roast. Poured cranberry/broth mixture slowly over roast & sprinkled with pkg of Lipton Onion Soup mix. Cookled on low, 6-7 hours & wala, everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Wonderful! I made this yesterday (halved the recipe) and I just love it. The broth/sauce is wonderful over a vegetable like steamed green beans. I used the cranberry sauce with whole cranberries included and I'm glad. I expect to make this again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This was the best pot roast that I've ever made! My hubby and kids couldn't get enough! I reduced liquid to 2 cups of organic beef broth, I first added broth to crockpot along with 2 big handfuls of dried cranberries (I didn't have cranberry sauce so I used dried cranberries they plumper up and dissolved and their flavor was amazing!) I seasoned roast with salt and pepper and sprinkled with rice flour, browned the roast and set in crackpot. In the same pan I sautéed large diced onion and then deglazed the pan with 1/2 cup of port wine. After scraping up all of the flavor bits from the bottom I poured the port onion mixture into the crackpot. About an hour before it was done I added 3 sweet potatoes diced pretty small and 2 portabella mushrooms sliced into 1/4 inch slices. This is definately a new favorite in our dinner rotation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This one is a great hit with my family. I have given out the recipe many times. I don't usually add the onion per my taste and it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasksi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Very good slow cooker recipe. The cranberry gives the beef a nice sweet yet tart taste. My 8 year old liked it and he doesn't usually go for sweeter meat dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mixingmedias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Delicious! I'll be making this again soon. The cranberries made everything an interesting color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Very tender and moist. Next time I will use more salt and garlic. The cranberries were a nice change and enhanced the flavor. I too, used crushed cranberries as well as dried cranberries. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valnohio2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Made nice gravy. I was expecting more of a tart cranberry taste but I used jellied sauce instead of whole berry. Will have to try it with whole berry sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States