Cranberry Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
My Husband REALLY loved it. I took out one cup on liquid and used a second can of cranberry and 1/2 dried cranberry's. Also added 1/4 tsp. of cayenne pepper for a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Easy and delicious. I found the cranberry flavor to be just right -- not overpowering, but definitely there. It added a really interesting sweet, complex flavor. I added large chunks of sweet potatoes and carrots to the slow cooker, as well as a tot of dark spiced rum, and substituted a gluten free flour mix for browning the roast (for my celiac spouse). I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
For a twist on your boring, old slow cooker Pot Roast recipe, this is FABULOUS! I took the cue from 'i luv 2 cook' and deviated a bit from there. Boiled 2 cups beef broth, 1 can cranberry sauce and 1/2 cup Merlot while browning roast on both sides, forgot flour. Mixed sliced onions, carrots & red potatoes on bottom of crock pot about 2" high, sprinkled with Beau Monde Seasoning & Italian herbs. Placed roast on top of veges, filled sides of roast with more veges, even to top of roast. Poured cranberry/broth mixture slowly over roast & sprinkled with pkg of Lipton Onion Soup mix. Cookled on low, 6-7 hours & wala, everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Wonderful! I made this yesterday (halved the recipe) and I just love it. The broth/sauce is wonderful over a vegetable like steamed green beans. I used the cranberry sauce with whole cranberries included and I'm glad. I expect to make this again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This was the best pot roast that I've ever made! My hubby and kids couldn't get enough! I reduced liquid to 2 cups of organic beef broth, I first added broth to crockpot along with 2 big handfuls of dried cranberries (I didn't have cranberry sauce so I used dried cranberries they plumper up and dissolved and their flavor was amazing!) I seasoned roast with salt and pepper and sprinkled with rice flour, browned the roast and set in crackpot. In the same pan I sautéed large diced onion and then deglazed the pan with 1/2 cup of port wine. After scraping up all of the flavor bits from the bottom I poured the port onion mixture into the crackpot. About an hour before it was done I added 3 sweet potatoes diced pretty small and 2 portabella mushrooms sliced into 1/4 inch slices. This is definately a new favorite in our dinner rotation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This one is a great hit with my family. I have given out the recipe many times. I don't usually add the onion per my taste and it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasksi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Very good slow cooker recipe. The cranberry gives the beef a nice sweet yet tart taste. My 8 year old liked it and he doesn't usually go for sweeter meat dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mixingmedias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Delicious! I'll be making this again soon. The cranberries made everything an interesting color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Very tender and moist. Next time I will use more salt and garlic. The cranberries were a nice change and enhanced the flavor. I too, used crushed cranberries as well as dried cranberries. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valnohio2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Made nice gravy. I was expecting more of a tart cranberry taste but I used jellied sauce instead of whole berry. Will have to try it with whole berry sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States