Cranberry Pot Roast by Michelle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I love this. It is sooooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N. Twedell

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I made this today using a slow cooker and it was wonderful! I browned the beef first and then followed the recipe except that I added half of a fairly large onion. I deglazed the pan which got the sauce ingredients warm to go into the slow cooker and preserved all the wonderful caramelized beef flavor. Cooked it on low for six hours and served with mashed potatoes and cooked carrots. I didn't thicken the broth but you could if you wanted to. It was a really good dinner and I am looking forward to the leftovers tomorrow! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Too flavorful, moist and tender to be so easy to prepare! And the sauce is incredible. I'm saving some for burgers on the grill. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Wonderful! I've been trying to find a pot roast recipe that both my husband and I love and this is it! Not too sweet, not too acidic. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I also threw in some leftover seafood cocktail sauce to use it up since it's basically tomato sauce and horseradish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I essentially followed janet7th's same method of sear and deglaze. Before adding the sauce to the slow cooker it tasted a bit too 'bottled cocktail saucy', but 5 hours on low allowed the vinegar and horseradish to mellow out and work their mojo on the beef, which was oh-so-tender. I chose to leave the sauce thin, but it could have been easily thickened by simply reducing or whisking in a slurry. Because this recipe is soo easy and delicious, I'll most likely make again, but with the additions of onion (either sliced white or chopped green) and more horseradish toward the end of cooking time (more zing) and maybe even whole berry cranberries (just for interest). Super recipe, Ethical Cook, especially for the upcoming holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
My daughter loved the gravy. I thought it was good but unbalanced. Maybe a pinch of salt on the meat before browning may help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is a good, easy recipe. I used a can of whole berry cranberry sauce, and would have liked more horseradish for the kick it could give, because I almost couldn't taste it. I'm not sure that I would call this a "go-to" recipe for my next roast, but it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Flavor okay but couldn't really taste the cranberry. Alright but nothing special. Maybe adding an onion would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I had high hopes for this recipe as we love cranberry sauce. I really couldn't taste the cranberry - there was way to much tomato sauce to allow the cranberry and horseradish flavors to shine. There was a ton of sauce / gravy which I ended up tossing out. It needs onion for sure, maybe even dry onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States