Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Thank you for this recipe!! It's great to try what seems to be an authentic biscotti recipe. The olive oil was an interesting addition and it seemed to work just fine. I really enjoyed this biscotti...and could really do multiple variations (almond extract, orange extract, different sorts of nuts). I chopped up raw almonds by hand and added just those into the batter along with vanilla extract. Drizzled afterwards with white chocolate. ALSO, I substituted yogurt for the two eggs, and it turned out just fine to my relief! About 4 oz. of yogurt and a little extra oil. While I like this recipe, I feel it could use a little more baking powder to achieve a smooth look on the top of the logs so that the biscotti look more professional when cut. I also prefer my biscotti to have a little bit more body to them, which I feel the recipe "Spring Biscotti" achieves. I do really like this recipe, and appreciate that it is oil based and will have a different result than butter-based recipes. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
My Grandma was the holiday cookie maker in the family until 4 or 5 years ago when I made this biscotti and inadvertently took over the task. Now I have to make it every year or get an earful. It's a bit messy, but having wet hands makes it doable. I usually flip them after the second baking time and add another 8-10 min to really get them dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Wow! Amazing flavor, texture and presentation. Pressing down with the knife was definitely easier than sawing the logs. Cutting through the pistachios wasn't hard. Like many reviewers, I added 1/4 tsp orange extract, increased to 1 cup cranberries, and decreased to 1 cup pistachios.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Great holiday recipe. I used coconut oil and dipped the ends in white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Loved these! They didn't make it to Christmas, had to make a second batch. I used one cup each nuts and cranberries. I rough cut the nuts. I also added 1/2 teaspoon orange zest I allowed the logs to cool on the cookie sheet for 30 minutes under a tea towel, then cut with a large chef knife. I just leaned on the blade, do not saw! I had no crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Loved these! I used almond in place if the pistachios. These will be great to dip in coffee or cocoa over the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
These are delicious, but the recipe only gave me 16 cookies--nowhere near what it said it would! They might be slightly larger than the instructions called for, but not significantly so. Disappointed in the yield, but they were easy enough that I can make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Best biscotti that I've ever had! Delicious and colorful - a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Loved it! My husband really loved them..I did not get 3 dozen out of this recipe so will be making another batch! I bought a very light olive oil and did not get the taste that someone previously mentioned
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 990) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States