Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was the best biscotti cookie I ever made! I have tried many biscotti recipes, and none of them can touch this one. It was easy to make; the hint of wetting your hands while shaping the logs worked wonderfully! They were sweet, but not too sweet. I followed the recipe exactly with a tad less pistachios, but only because the amount I bought was a little shy of the full amount. I don't think this lack altered the taste at all. I did have to bake them a lot longer for the first baking time, but I'm not sure my oven was working well. I baked them until they were a little browned, let them rest for about 10 minutes, then cut them. I had no problem with the cookies splitting when cutting them. I used a chef's knife, and pressed down on the handle and blade to make a clean cut. I also baked them the second time about 12 minutes, but again, it could have been my oven acting up. My husband had one, and said they were the best biscotti he ever had, even better than the Italian bakeries here. I'm going to hide them, as I want to serve them at Christmas. I will definitely make these again. Oh.....I did roughly chop the pistachios and cranberries before incorporating them into the batter. These are DELICIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Delicious and delightful biscotti! Tried making these years ago without great success and decided it was time to try again. This recipe came together beautifully and the add-in combinations are endless with such a great and forgiving dough base. I like that these are made with pantry ingredients (except for the additions) so I was able to put it together with ease. I did chill the dough for a bit and that seemed to take away much of the stickiness and I had to wet my hands often to form a good loaf. I used a serrated knife and had no problem with slicing. Be careful of the ends when slicing for they can 'chip off' but when I used an even and leveled sawing motion that stopped. Recipe yielded only 13 cookies so I plan to make a couple more batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
These were great! My husband, who doesn't like biscotti, said I shouldn't make them (and biscotti is just O.K. to me) but I said I wanted to try them since they got such great reviews. After I did, we both said "Wow! These are great!" and my husband said, "Why did you only make that many?". I only added 1 cup of pistachios because that is all we had. I also added a little less cranberries since I added less pistachios. I will make them that way from now on. I had to cook them the 2nd time for longer because they were still soft. For those saying they didn't like the olive oil flavor in these, light olive oil has no flavor unlike extra virgin olive oil so make sure you only use the light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Thank you for this recipe!! It's great to try what seems to be an authentic biscotti recipe. The olive oil was an interesting addition and it seemed to work just fine. I really enjoyed this biscotti...and could really do multiple variations (almond extract, orange extract, different sorts of nuts). I chopped up raw almonds by hand and added just those into the batter along with vanilla extract. Drizzled afterwards with white chocolate. ALSO, I substituted yogurt for the two eggs, and it turned out just fine to my relief! About 4 oz. of yogurt and a little extra oil. While I like this recipe, I feel it could use a little more baking powder to achieve a smooth look on the top of the logs so that the biscotti look more professional when cut. I also prefer my biscotti to have a little bit more body to them, which I feel the recipe "Spring Biscotti" achieves. I do really like this recipe, and appreciate that it is oil based and will have a different result than butter-based recipes. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
My Grandma was the holiday cookie maker in the family until 4 or 5 years ago when I made this biscotti and inadvertently took over the task. Now I have to make it every year or get an earful. It's a bit messy, but having wet hands makes it doable. I usually flip them after the second baking time and add another 8-10 min to really get them dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Wow! Amazing flavor, texture and presentation. Pressing down with the knife was definitely easier than sawing the logs. Cutting through the pistachios wasn't hard. Like many reviewers, I added 1/4 tsp orange extract, increased to 1 cup cranberries, and decreased to 1 cup pistachios.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Great holiday recipe. I used coconut oil and dipped the ends in white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Loved these! They didn't make it to Christmas, had to make a second batch. I used one cup each nuts and cranberries. I rough cut the nuts. I also added 1/2 teaspoon orange zest I allowed the logs to cool on the cookie sheet for 30 minutes under a tea towel, then cut with a large chef knife. I just leaned on the blade, do not saw! I had no crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Loved these! I used almond in place if the pistachios. These will be great to dip in coffee or cocoa over the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 964) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States