Cranberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
My family loved this pie. I used 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I baked it until a toothpick inserted in center came clean. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe and plan on making it again the next time I have an excuse to make a pie. My pie came out with a nice creamy texture and it was delicious. I tweaked it a tiny bit for personal preference by cutting the cranberries in half and letting them sit for a while mixed with 1/4 cup of the sugar called for- I think this mellowed the sweet-tart contrast a little without making it bland by any means. I did only use a bottom crust for mine, and even still it took a bit longer to set than the recipe states. I have a few slices in the freezer for later- they take a while to thaw but are just as good even after storing which is great if you're the only cranberry fanatic in your house like me. Thanks for this recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Loved it! Bakes up with the consistancy of Pecan Pie. Yummy and Sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeri Porcaro

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was so tasty! I loved the combination of cranberries and orange zest. Yum! I actually made mini-pies out of this (lined muffin tins with pie crust, added pie filling and baked for 35-40 minutes--watch it carefully in the last few minutes), and plan on baking a full size pie this afternoon. This recipe will be the first one I go to whenever I'm in charge of bringing a pie to something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This was a really nice surprise.I didn't expect it to be as good as it was.The only thing I'll change next time is cook for 5 to 10 min longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
this recipe made me sad, it looked so good and i thought it was perfect until it cooled and i found out it was still super runny. i ended up throwing the whole thing out because i was worried the egg was still raw. i cooked it 45 minutes and it look like it set up, but it was so runny i couldnt possibly imaging eating it. however it was pretty and smelled great. i would like to try it again but dont know if i will get around to it now that i would have to go back to the store for more ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I didn't actually taste this but instead baked it and sent it off with my husband on a visit home. He and my MIL pronounced it "fantastic" saying it travelled well (from VA to MI via car). They also commented on how well it kept given the last slice was as tasty as the first from almost a week before. I used less sugar in the recipe and sprinkled the top (with festive pastry cutouts) with turbinado sugar for crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Not quite what I was expecting, but very tasty all the same. I went a bit heavy on the cinnamon and nutmeg. Next time, I will definitely increase the cranberries a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Pera Reznik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This pie does require additional baking time...I baked for over an hour (had to cover the whole pie w/ a piece of foil as it was getting too golden). I added extra cinnamon & nutmeg as well as a tsp of pure orange extract. After the pie had baked, I sprinkled it w/ a bit of raw sugar & garnished w/ some frosted cranberries. Loved the sweet/tart aspect...thanks Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
This surely is a delicious holiday pie. Instead of a pinch each cinnamon and nutmeg, I added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. The taste of combined spices and orange rind makes it almost perfect. May add some more cranberries and increase a little bit cooking time, but will definitely bake it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States