Cranberry Pecan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I made it this morning, with some changes, and everyone loved it including my 2 young boys. I didn't have frozen cranberries, so I used 1 cup craisins (mixed half in the batter, half for the topping)--I would NOT use 3 cups--too much. No pecans. Substituted brown sugar for the first cup of white sugar to mix with the craisins for the topping. I also didn't make it "upside down" so I added half the batter, then a layer of topping, then layered the rest of the batter and topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Love it! We add 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
this is my recipe and I'm not sure why they say to use frozen cranberries - I use fresh...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This did not set at all! I think there is not enough flour in the recipe. It did taste good and I served it with whipped cream in a bowl more like a trifle. Would try again but with some adaptations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrwiddles
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I halved the recipe for this, since I only had a 1 quart baking dish. Turned out delicious, but it didn't survive being turned upside down. :c I feel it could use a little more batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrwiddles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made this for New Years exactly as the recipe stated and it came out delicious! When people start changing things in a recipe, it's no longer the recipe stated...it then becomes their own recipe. Make it according to directions and you won't have any problems. It was yummy and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I took this to my church Christmas party and the pastor kept telling people not to eat it so he could take it home. I added 1 tsp. of cinnamon to cake batter. I piped whipped cream in a lattice pattern on top as one edge stuck in the dish when I flipped it. Hid the crack very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Nice balance between tart and sweet. This is a *must make*.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I had fresh cranberry, and it came out great. After reading other reviews, I didn't try to turn it over. Instead, I served it like a cobbler. Hot with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, it was fantastic. So much for my diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HKR
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This recipe was reprinted in the St. Petersburg Times and as soon as I saw that it was taken from Allrecipes.com, I looked it up online. First of all, this is a very simple cake that can be quickly made by a beginner cook - great for last minute. I followed the recipe as written, but used one bag of Ocean Spray fresh cranberries. I lined a 2 quart rectangular Pyrex baking dish with parchment paper so that it would release easily. I baked the cake for 50 minutes since at 45, a toothpick did not come out clean. I let the cake sit for about 20 minutes before turning out onto a plate and the parchment did the trick - it had no problem releasing from the pan. The appearance of the cake is great. Since it is tart from the cranberries and not really sweet, I would recommend serving it a little warm with vanilla ice cream. This is a cake that I will make again. Next time I will use an angel food or bundt type pan for a better presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HKR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States