Cranberry Pecan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I made it this morning, with some changes, and everyone loved it including my 2 young boys. I didn't have frozen cranberries, so I used 1 cup craisins (mixed half in the batter, half for the topping)--I would NOT use 3 cups--too much. No pecans. Substituted brown sugar for the first cup of white sugar to mix with the craisins for the topping. I also didn't make it "upside down" so I added half the batter, then a layer of topping, then layered the rest of the batter and topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Love it! We add 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
this is my recipe and I'm not sure why they say to use frozen cranberries - I use fresh...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This did not set at all! I think there is not enough flour in the recipe. It did taste good and I served it with whipped cream in a bowl more like a trifle. Would try again but with some adaptations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrwiddles
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I halved the recipe for this, since I only had a 1 quart baking dish. Turned out delicious, but it didn't survive being turned upside down. :c I feel it could use a little more batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrwiddles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made this for New Years exactly as the recipe stated and it came out delicious! When people start changing things in a recipe, it's no longer the recipe stated...it then becomes their own recipe. Make it according to directions and you won't have any problems. It was yummy and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I took this to my church Christmas party and the pastor kept telling people not to eat it so he could take it home. I added 1 tsp. of cinnamon to cake batter. I piped whipped cream in a lattice pattern on top as one edge stuck in the dish when I flipped it. Hid the crack very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Nice balance between tart and sweet. This is a *must make*.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I had fresh cranberry, and it came out great. After reading other reviews, I didn't try to turn it over. Instead, I served it like a cobbler. Hot with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, it was fantastic. So much for my diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HKR
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This recipe was reprinted in the St. Petersburg Times and as soon as I saw that it was taken from Allrecipes.com, I looked it up online. First of all, this is a very simple cake that can be quickly made by a beginner cook - great for last minute. I followed the recipe as written, but used one bag of Ocean Spray fresh cranberries. I lined a 2 quart rectangular Pyrex baking dish with parchment paper so that it would release easily. I baked the cake for 50 minutes since at 45, a toothpick did not come out clean. I let the cake sit for about 20 minutes before turning out onto a plate and the parchment did the trick - it had no problem releasing from the pan. The appearance of the cake is great. Since it is tart from the cranberries and not really sweet, I would recommend serving it a little warm with vanilla ice cream. This is a cake that I will make again. Next time I will use an angel food or bundt type pan for a better presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HKR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States