Cranberry Orange Wheat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
absolutely delicious!! i made this just this last week and took them to school everyday to have as a snack before lunch. these scones really stick w/ you. i made only slight modifications to the recipe. i did use real butter instead of shortening (smart balance butter blend sticks also work well). i also used fresh cranberries (chopped and tossed w/ some sugar). they are great fresh out of the oven, and even better the next day. i also tried a lemon blueberry version, which are outstanding! i used 6oz fresh blueberries, 1/4 c lemon juice (in place of orange), 1-2 Tbsp lemon zest, and used cinnamon (about 1 or 1 1/2 tsp) instead of nutmeg. this recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChattTraveler
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I have made these 3 times according to the recipe given, and each time they were wonderful. I gave one batch away and got rave reviews. It helps that it is such a healthy recipe. I did use parchment paper in lieu of greasing the pan, but that was just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChattTraveler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This recipe is fantastic and easy. I exchanged the wheat germ for unprocessed bran and drizzled them with icing made from fresh squeezed orange juice and confectionary sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I did not think it was possible to have another scone recipe, but because we love cranberries so much just had to have this one. Did make some changes (to suit my taste) - substituted 1/2 cup white flour for the wholewheat and used 1/2 butter rather than all shortening. Probably not as healthy but good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This is the first time I ever purchased wheat germ, so I was hoping that I hadn't wasted my money. My whole family ate these with out the usual fussing about "what is in this?". I also tried it with orange flavored cranberries. I didn't have orange juice at home, but just squeezed out the juice of 1/2 of a large orange as I needed to use an orange for the zest. I also added cinnamon. Never can have too much cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maciccu
Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I rarely give 5 stars. When a recipe is pretty darned good and worth repeating, I'll give it 4 stars. This recipe I would give even more than 5 stars! It is a simple recipe that yields really spectacular flavor and texture. I did not have OJ, so I used more milk. I didn't have orange zest, so I used 2 Tbs of orange extract, which was more than plenty. I also used the orange-essence dried cranberries. I did substitute wheat bran for the wheat germ, and opted for 1/2 white flour 1/2 whole wheat flour. The texture was fantastic, flavor wonderful. Delicious with honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Super good recipe and definitely worth your while. I didn't have any craisins, so I coursely chopped a cup or so of fresh cranberries, added 2 - 3 TBS of white sugar and put in the microwave for 30 seconds, then added to the dry ingredients, and it worked just fine. I was low on some other ingredients too, so I borrowed several ideas from the reviewers, used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white flour, didn't have orange zest, so used 3/4 c orange juice and 1/4 milk, substituted butter for the shortening. Also made the glaze from Ann's review, orange juice and powdered sugar, which was the perfect finishing touch for us. One more thing was I reduced the amount of wheat germ to a 1/4 cup and added a 1/4 of ground flax seed and I couldn't tell the difference. Will definitely make again and maybe try other berries and juice combinations like possibly blueberry and lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
These are amazing. I substituted applesauce for the shortening and used whole wheat pastry flower. I have no gilt for indulging in my favorite treat. The 4tsp. of baking powder give it a true biscuit taste along with the Pastry flour being lighter then reg. whole wheat. A new staple. I am looking to expand with other ingredients.Skip the butter on top. They remain moist at least until the next day (if they last that long) and they are pretty much fat free. For a scone that is amazing in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Awesome recipe as-is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Delicious scones that you can't even tell are made out of wheat. Cranberries are in every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States